NASCAR - Camping World - American Ethanol 225 Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Saturday, July 21st
SITE: Chicagoland Speedway (2001) -- Joliet, Illinois
TRACK: 1.5-mile tri-oval - 2,400 feet (Frontstretch); 1,700 feet (Backstretch)
CAPACITY: 69,000 (Grandstand Seating)
TELEVISION: Speed Channel
ANNOUNCERS: Rick Allen, Phil Parsons, Michael Waltrip
RADIO: Motor Racing Network (MRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio
START TIME: 8 p.m. (ET)
DEFENDING CHAMPION: Austin Dillon (Not Defending)
RUNNER-UP: Kevin Harvick
POLE WINNER: Steve Arpin (Finished 16th)
LAPS: 150
MILES: 225
QUALIFYING RECORD: Steve Arpin, 2011 (175.507 m.p.h.)
RACE RECORD: Austin Dillon, 2011 (139.703 m.p.h.)
TOTAL PURSE: $604,189 (2011 figures)
PAYOUTS: 1st Place - $38,700; 2nd Place - $29,050; 3rd Place - $24,875
2011 Finish
1Austin Dillon56Johnny Sauter13
2Kevin Harvick27Matt Crafton10
3Nelson Piquet Jr128Miguel Paludo9
4Parker Kligerman39Cole Whitt7
5Kyle Busch1410Ron Hornaday Jr16
2011 American Ethanol 225 Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 139.703 m.p.h.
TIME OF RACE: 1 hour, 36 minutes, 38 seconds
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 4.950 seconds
CAUTION FLAGS: 3 for 15 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 12 among 7 drivers
POLE WINNER: Steve Arpin (175.507 m.p.h.)
Past American Ethanol 225 Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2011 -- Austin Dillon (5th) -- Chevrolet -- 139.703 m.p.h. (race record)
2010 -- Kyle Busch (4th) -- Toyota -- 132.610 m.p.h.
2009 -- Kyle Busch (4th) -- Toyota -- 119.293 m.p.h.
NOTE: Formerly called 225 (2009-10) and Fast Five 225
Past American Ethanol 225 Pole Winners (Finish)
2011 -- Steve Arpin -- 16th
2010 -- Todd Bodine -- 2nd
2009 -- Matt Crafton -- 14th
Last Race Results
RACE: American Ethanol 200 (July 14th)
SITE: Iowa Speedway -- Newton, Iowa
MILES: 175
LAPS: 200
WINNER: Timothy Peters
RUNNER-UP: Ron Hornaday Jr
THIRD: Matt Crafton
FOURTH: Johnny Sauter
FIFTH: Justin Lofton
POLE WINNER: Timothy Peters (Finished 1st)
TIME OF RACE: 1 hour, 48 minutes, 54 seconds
AVERAGE SPEED: 96.419 m.p.h.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 1.586 seconds
CAUTION FLAGS: 7 for 39 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 6 among 3 drivers
LAP LEADERS: T. Peters 1-9; J. Buescher 10-41; T. Peters 42-75; J. Buescher
76-134; T. Peters 135-168; R. Hornaday Jr. 169-190; T. Peters
American Ethanol 225 Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
2Brendan Gaughan (Las Vegas, NV)Chevrolet/South Point
3Ty Dillon (Lewisville, NC)Chevrolet/Bass Pro Shops
5Paulie Harraka (Fair Lawn, NJ)Ford/TBA
6Justin Lofton (Westmorland, CA)Chevrolet/
07Johnny Chapman (Stony Point, NC)Toyota/Wear Your Gear/
08Ross Chastain (Alva, FL)Toyota/Illiana Watermelon Assoc.
09John Wes Townley (Waitville, GA)Toyota/TBA
9Ron Hornaday Jr. (Palmdale, CA)Chevrolet/Anderson's Maple Syrup
11Todd Bodine (Chemung, NY)Toyota/Red Horse Racing
13Johnny Sauter (Necedah, WI)Toyota/Hot Honeys/Curb Records
17Timothy Peters (Providence, NC)Toyota/Red Horse Racing
18Jason Leffler (Long Beach, CA)Toyota/Dollar General
22Joey Coulter (Miami Springs, FL)Chevrolet/Richard Childress Racing
23Jason White (Powhatan, VA)Ford/JW Demolition/
27To Be AnnouncedChevrolet/Hillman Racing
29Parker Kligerman (Westport, CT)Dodge/
30Nelson Piquet Jr (Brasilia, Brazil)Chevrolet/Polen Design
31James Buescher (Plano, TX)Chevrolet/TBA
32Miguel Paludo (New Silver, Brazil)Chevrolet/Duroline Brakes
33Cale Gale (Mobile, AL)Chevrolet/Rheem
39Ryan Sieg (Tucker, GA)Chevrolet/RSS Racing
57Norm Benning (Level Green, PA)Chevrolet/Norm Benning Racing
68Clay Greenfield (Clarksville, TN)Dodge/@claygreenfield
73Rick Crawford (Mobile, AL)Chevrolet/Trans Pecos Trucking
81David Starr (Houston, TX)Toyota/Zachry
84Chris Fontaine (Lakeland, FL)Chevrolet/Glenden Enterprises
86Blake Koch (West Palm Beach, FL)Dodge/Clay Greenfield Motorsports
88Matt Crafton (Tulare, CA)Toyota/Menard's
92Chad McCumbee (Supply, NC)Chevrolet/BTS Tire & Wheel/QMI
93Dennis Setzer (Newton, NC)Chevrolet/RSS Racing
98Dakoda Armstrong (New Castle, IN)Toyota/
99Bryan Silas (Stuart, FL)Ford/Rockingham Speedway
Leading Contenders (Finish the last three years)
Nelson Piquet Jr------3rd
Parker Kligerman------4th
Johnny Sauter5th4th6th
Matt Crafton14th7th7th
Miguel Paludo------8th
Ron Hornaday Jr11th3rd10th
James Buescher20th12th11th
Todd Bodine2nd2nd13th
Brendan Gaughan------14th
Justin Lofton---5th15th
Timothy Peters9th21st17th
Ty Dillon---------
Jason Leffler---------
Mover of the Week
Dennis Setzer - Started in 30th position and finished 19th
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Johnny Sauter
Darkhorse - Jason Leffler
Last Week's Pick to Win (James Buescher) - Finished 30th
Last Week's Darkhorse (David Starr) - Finished 28th
Although Timothy Peters is the driver to beat this week in Chicago, he has yet to crack the top-8 in three appearances.

Peters, who won last week in Iowa, widening his lead to 12 points over Justin Lofton, has finished 9th, 21st and 17th in three previous races at Chicagoland Speedway.

His first win of the season was a dominant one, as he led 87 of the 200 laps after starting on the pole. In nine starts this year, only once has he finished outside the top-10.

Last season, Austin Dillon benefited from a late-race pit stop to win for the fourth time in his career. Dillon's No.3 Richard Childress Racing team made a quick and flawless two-tire change during a round of green-flag pit stops within the final 20 laps. Dillon then took the lead for good with 14 laps remaining and finished five seconds ahead of Kevin Harvick, who had dominated most of the race with 99 laps led.

Kyle Busch put on a dominating performance in 2010, but had to hold off a furious charge from pole sitter Todd Bodine in the closing laps to claim his fourth victory of that season and the 20th of 30 Camping World titles. His margin of victory was a slim, 0.186 seconds.

In 2009, Busch made a late-race pass on Todd Bodine for the lead and then held off Bodine on a restart with seven laps to go to win the inaugural Truck Series race at Chicagoland Speedway. Busch led for a race-high 79 laps after starting fourth on the grid. Pole sitter Matt Crafton led 23 laps, but placed 14th.

Not only will Busch be skipping this race, but defending champion Austin Dillon will be sitting this one out. Both drivers are racing on the Nationwide Circuit this week at Chicagoland.

The next Camping World Truck Series race is the August 4 Pennsylvania Mountains 125 at Pocono Raceway. Kevin Harvick won last year's race there.

07/17 13:56:29 ET

As of July 17, 2012, at 01:56 PM ET
©2015 The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments |