NASCAR - Camping World Truck - VFW 200 Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Saturday, August 20th
SITE: Michigan International Speedway (1968) -- Brooklyn, Michigan
TRACK: two-mile oval - 3,600 feet (Frontstretch); 2,242 feet (Backstretch)
CAPACITY: 137,243
ANNUAL: 12th
TELEVISION: Speed Channel
ANNOUNCERS: Rick Allen, Phil Parsons, Michael Waltrip
RADIO: Motor Racing Network (MRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio
START TIME: 12:30 p.m. (et)
DEFENDING CHAMPION: Aric Almirola (not defending)
RUNNER-UP: Todd Bodine
POLE WINNER: Austin Dillon (Finished 5th)
LAPS: 100
MILES: 200
QUALIFYING RECORD: Kyle Busch, 2005 (181.612 m.p.h.)
RACE RECORD: Brendan Gaughan, 2003 (154.044 m.p.h.)
TOTAL PURSE: $494,252 (2010 figures)
PAYOUTS: 1st Place - $51,350; 2nd Place - $35,515; 3rd Place - $19,885
2010 Finish
1Aric Almirola106Timothy Peters12
2Todd Bodine77Jason White16
3Kyle Busch88David Starr24
4Ron Hornaday Jr29Elliott Sadler5
5Austin Dillon110Nelson Piquet Jr14
2010 VFW 200 Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 118.558 m.p.h.
TIME OF RACE: 1 hour, 41 minutes, 13 seconds
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 0.111 second
CAUTION FLAGS: 5 for 24 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 20 among 10 drivers
POLE WINNER: Austin Dillon (176.488 m.p.h.)
Past VFW 200 Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2010 -- Aric Almirola (10th) -- Toyota -- 118.558 m.p.h.
2009 -- Colin Braun (12th) -- Ford -- 130.838 m.p.h.
2008 -- Erik Darnell (11th) -- Ford -- 140.433 m.p.h.
2007 -- Travis Kvapil (1st) -- Ford -- 135.364 m.p.h.
2006 -- Johnny Benson (5th) -- Toyota -- 116.534 m.p.h.
2005 -- Dennis Setzer (10th) -- Chevrolet -- 122.387 m.p.h.
2004 -- Travis Kvapil (8th) -- Toyota -- 125.479 m.p.h.
2003 -- Brendan Gaughan (6th) -- Dodge -- 154.044 m.p.h. (race record)
2002 -- Robert Pressley (8th) -- Dodge -- 142.208 m.p.h.
2001 -- Not Held
2000 -- Greg Biffle (2nd) -- Ford -- 138.408 m.p.h.
1999 -- Greg Biffle (11th) -- Ford -- 121.889 m.p.h.
NOTE: Formerly called 200 (1999), Michigan 200 (2000, 2002, 2007,
2009), Sears 200 (2003), Line-X Spray-on Truck Bedliners 200 (2004),
Paramount Health Insurance 200 (2005), Con-way Freight 200 (2006), Cool
City Customs 200 (2008).
Past VFW 200 Pole Winners (Finish)
2010 -- Austin Dillon -- 5th
2009 -- Brian Ickler -- 3rd
2008 -- Mike Skinner -- 8th
2007 -- Travis Kvapil -- 1st
2006 -- Mike Skinner -- 11th
2005 -- Kyle Busch -- 2nd
2004 -- Dennis Setzer -- 10th
2003 -- Jason Leffler -- 4th
2002 -- Ted Musgrave -- 32nd
2001 -- Not Held
2000 -- Jamie McMurray -- 6th
1999 -- Stacy Compton -- 6th
Last Race Results
RACE: Good Sam RV Emergency Road Service 125 (August 6th)
SITE: Pocono Raceway -- Long Pond, Pennsylvania
MILES: 132.5
LAPS: 53
WINNER: Kevin Harvick
RUNNER-UP: Kyle Busch
THIRD: James Buescher
FOURTH: Johnny Sauter
FIFTH: Austin Dillon
POLE WINNER: Kevin Harvick (Finished 1st)
TIME OF RACE: 1 hour, 19 minutes, 50 seconds
AVERAGE SPEED: 99.582 m.p.h.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 1.140 seconds
CAUTION FLAGS: 7 for 22 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 2 among 2 drivers
LAP LEADERS: K. Harvick 1-14; P. Kligerman 15-23; K. Harvick 24-53.
VFW 200 Entry List
Leading Contenders (Finish the last nine years)
Todd Bodine---------9th4th7th4th13th2nd
Kyle Busch---------2nd---2nd7th2nd3rd
Ron Hornaday Jr---------30th7th10th23rd7th4th
Austin Dillon------------------------5th
Timothy Peters---------25th35th------8th7th
David Starr5th13th21st12th13th13th26th11th8th
Nelson Piquet Jr------------------------10th
Johnny Sauter---------------------16th14th
James Buescher---------------------33rd16th
Matt Crafton16th25th12th22nd5th34th15th4th27th
Mark Martin------------33rd35th---------
Cole Whitt---------------------------
Joey Coulter---------------------------
Parker Kligerman---------------------------
Mover of the Week
Johnny Sauter - Started in the 16th position and finished 4th
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Johnny Sauter
Darkhorse - Max Papis
Last Week's Pick to Win (Austin Dillon) - Finished 5th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Nelson Piquet Jr) - Finished 14th
After taking a week off, the Camping World Truck Series resumes its season on Saturday at Michigan International Speedway.

Just 23 points separate first-place Austin Dillon from fourth-place Timothy Peters. Johnny Sauter originally held the lead following his fourth-place run at Pocono earlier this month, but Sauter was docked six points after his No.13 Chevrolet failed post-race inspection. Officials discovered the right-rear bed panel on his truck was too high. Sauter is only one point behind Dillon.

Kevin Harvick, Kyle Busch and Mark Martin are those Sprint Cup Series regulars entered in this race. All three drivers also competed in the Pocono truck event.

Last season, Aric Almirola captured his second victory in the Camping World Truck Series by winning at Michigan International Speedway.

Almirola took the lead for the first time with seven laps to go when he pulled ahead of Todd Bodine and Kyle Busch after they ran three-wide for the top spot. He held off several challenges from Bodine in the final laps before beating him at the finish by 0.111 seconds.

There have been nine different winners in 11 previous truck races at Michigan. The last six races at this track have been won by a different driver, including three first-time winners in the series (Johnny Benson, Erik Darnell and Colin Braun).

With 24 laps remaining, Colin Braun assumed control of the 2009 race and held on to the bitter end to defeat Kyle Busch by 1.790 seconds for his first and only Truck Series title. Busch led four times for a race-high 62 laps, while pole sitter Brian Ickler finished third.

Starting from the 11th position, Erik Darnell claimed the lead on lap 76 and led the final 25 laps, as he defeated Johnny Benson by the slimmest of margins for his second career Truck Series title in 2008. Darnell, who's first career title came in 2007, clipped Benson by 0.005 of a second.

Travis Kvapil became the first pole sitter to capture this race when he won in 2007, as he took the checkered flag 0.292 of a second ahead of Kyle Busch. The victory was his sixth career Truck Series title. Kvapil led three times for 18 laps, while Busch led four times for a race-high 38 laps. Kvapil regained the lead with just two laps remaining and held on for the first of four wins in 2007.

In 2006, Johnny Benson clipped Mark Martin by less than a second for his first career Camping World title. Benson crossed the finish line 0.112 of a second ahead of Martin before 60,000 fans. Benson and Martin traded for the lead on the last 51 laps, with Benson reclaiming the advantage for good on lap 73 of the 102-lap race. Pole sitter Mike Skinner led for 25 laps, but finished 11th, while Martin led six times for a race-high 33 laps.

2005 saw Dennis Setzer cross the finish line under caution to capture his 13th career Truck title. Setzer edged pole sitter Kyle Busch for the win.

None of the previous race winners are expected to compete this week. Four-time Truck Series champion Ron Hornaday Jr is in the field this week. Michigan is one of just eight tracks in which Hornaday has failed to record a victory.

The next Camping World Truck Series race is the August 24th running of the O'Reilly Auto Parts 200 at Bristol Motor Speedway. Kyle Busch is the defending race winner.

08/16 20:37:18 ET

As of August 16, 2011, at 08:37 PM ET
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments |