NASCAR - Nationwide - Get to Know Newton 250 Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Sunday, May 18
SITE: Iowa Speedway -- Newton, Iowa
TRACK: 0.875-mile oval
CAPACITY: 30,000+ (Grandstand Seating)
RADIO: Motor Racing Network (MRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio
START TIME: 2 p.m. (ET)
QUALIFYING TIME: Saturday, May 17/7:10 p.m. ET
RUNNER-UP: Austin Dillon
POLE WINNER: Austin Dillon (finished 2)
LAPS: 250
MILES: 218.75
QUALIFYING RECORD: Austin Dillon, 2013 (136.737 mph)
RACE RECORD: Elliott Sadler, 2012 (115.662 mph)
2013 Finish
1Trevor Bayne146Brian Scott3
2Austin Dillon17Regan Smith5
3Elliott Sadler78Justin Allgaier11
4Sam Hornish Jr29Ryan Blaney6
5Kyle Larson1010Mike Bliss17
2013 Get to Know Newton 250 Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 102.472 mph
TIME OF RACE: 2 hrs., 8 mins., 5 secs.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 2.023 secs.
CAUTION FLAGS: 5 for 31 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 12 among 4 drivers
POLE WINNER: Austin Dillon (136.737 mph)
Past Get to Know Newton 250 Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2013 -- Trevor Bayne (14) -- Ford -- 102.472 mph
2012 -- Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (3) -- Ford -- 107.157 mph
2011 -- Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (8) -- Ford -- 106.132 mph
NOTE: Formerly called Iowa John Deere Dealers 250 (2011), Pioneer Hi-Bred 250
(2012), DuPont Pioneer 250 (2013).
Past Get to Know Newton 250 Pole Winners (Finish)
2013 -- Austin Dillon -- 2
2012 -- Elliott Sadler -- 2
2011 -- None -- Weather
Last Race Results
RACE: Aaron's 312 (May 3)
SITE: Talladega Superspeedway -- Talladega, Ala.
MILES: 311.22
LAPS: 117
WINNER: Elliott Sadler
RUNNER-UP: Chris Buescher
THIRD: Regan Smith
FOURTH: David Ragan
FIFTH: Sam Hornish Jr.
POLE WINNER: Sam Hornish Jr. (finished 5)
TIME OF RACE: 2 hrs., 22 mins., 18 secs.
AVERAGE SPEED: 131.224 mph
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 0.124 secs.
CAUTION FLAGS: 7 for 29 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 27 among 13 drivers
LAP LEADERS: Hornish Jr-pole, Reed 1-29, Gaughan 30, Dillon 31-33, Sadler
34-39, Scott 40-41, Sadler 42, Scott 43-45, Clements 46, Gase 47,
Blaney 48-49, Scott 50, Sadler 51, Scott 52, Sadler 53, Scott 54,
Sadler 55-57, Scott 58-59, Sadler 60-66, Yeley 67, Sadler 68-83,
Smith 84-103, Starr 104-107, Elliott 108-110, Starr 111, Sadler
112-115, Buescher 116, Sadler 117.
Get to Know Newton 250 Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
01Landon Cassill (Fairfax, IA)Chevrolet/
2Brian Scott (Boise, ID)Chevrolet/Smokey Mountain Snuff
3Ty Dillon (Welcome, NC)Chevrolet/Wesco
4Jeffrey Earnhardt (Mooresville, NC)Chevrolet/
5Austin Theriault (Caribou, ME)Chevrolet/SPY/Dirty Mo Radio
6 *Trevor Bayne (Knoxville, TN)Ford/AdvoCare
7Regan Smith (Cato, NY)Chevrolet/ Clips
9Chase Elliott (Dawsonville, GA)Chevrolet/NAPA Auto Parts
10Jeff Green (Owensboro, KY)Toyota/
11Elliott Sadler (Emporia, VA)Toyota/One Main Financial
14Eric McClure (Chilhowie, VA)Toyota/Hefty/Reynolds Wrap
15Ryan Ellis (Ashburn, VA)Ford/Rick Ware Racing
16Ryan Reed (Bakersfield, CA)Ford/American Diabetes Assoc.
17Tanner Berryhill (Bixby, OK)Dodge/
19Mike Bliss (Milwaukie, OR)Toyota/Tweaker Energy Shot
20Michael McDowell (Glendale, AZ)Toyota/Pizza Ranch
22Ryan Blaney (High Point, NC)Ford/SKF/Discount Tire
23Carlos Contreras (Mexico City,Mexico)Chevrolet/TBA
28J.J. Yeley (Phoenix, AZ)Dodge/JGL Racing
31Chase Pistone (Cornelius, NC)Chevrolet/TBA
33Cale Conley (Vienna, WV)Chevrolet/Okuma
39Ryan Sieg (Tucker, GA)Chevrolet/RSS Racing
40Josh Wise (Riverside, CA)Chevrolet/Curtis Key Plumbing
42Dylan Kwasniewski (Las Vegas, NV)Chevrolet/Up & Up
43Dakoda Armstrong (New Castle, IN)Ford/WinField
44Hal Martin (Galliano, LA)Toyota/American Custom Yachts
46Matt DiBenedetto (Grass Valley, CA)Chevrolet/Curtis Key Plumbing
51Jeremy Clements (Spartanburg, SC)Chevrolet/
52Joey Gase (Cedar Rapids, IA)Chevrolet/Iowa Donate Life
54Sam Hornish Jr. (Defiance, OH)Toyota/Monster Energy
55Caleb Roark (Abingdon, VA)Chevrolet/TBA
60Chris Buescher (Prosper, TX)Ford/Roush Fenway Racing
62Brendan Gaughan (Las Vegas, NV)Chevrolet/South Point
70Derrike Cope (Spanaway, WA)Chevrolet/Youtheory
74Mike Harmon (Birmingport, AL)Dodge/TBA
76Tommy Joe Martins (Como, MS)Ford/Reissen Construction
84Chad Boat (Phoenix, AZ)Chevrolet/Billy Boat Performance
87Daryl Harr (St. Albert, Alb., Canada)Chevrolet/JD Motorsports
93Carl Long (Roxboro, NC)Dodge/JGL Racing
98Ryan Gifford (Winchester, VA)Ford/Carroll Shelby Engine Co.
99James Buescher (Plano, TX)Toyota/Rheem
* - defending champion
Leading Contenders (Finish the last three years)
Trevor Bayne------Won
Elliott Sadler523
Sam Hornish Jr.---124
Brian Scott27116
Regan Smith------7
Ryan Blaney------9
Brendan Gaughan---10---
Chase Elliott---------
Ty Dillon---------
Dylan Kwasniewski---------
Chris Buescher---------
Mover of the Week
Regan Smith - started 32 and finished 3
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Chase Elliott
Last Week's Pick to Win (Kyle Larson) - finished 30
The Get to Know Newton 250 at Iowa Speedway is the 10th race on the 2014 Nationwide Series schedule.

Built in 2006, Iowa Speedway has progressive banking from 12-14 degrees in all of its turns. There are 10 degrees of banking on the frontstretch and four degrees on the backstretch. The length of the frontstretch is 1,075 feet, and the backstretch measures 869 feet.

There have been eight Nationwide races held at Iowa. The series competed there once each season from 2009-2010 and then twice each year since then. Nationwide returns to Iowa the first weekend in August.

Ricky Stenhouse Jr. has the most Nationwide wins at Iowa with three. Stenhouse scored a season sweep at this track during the 2011 season and then followed up with another victory there in May 2012.

Brad Keselowski won the inaugural Nationwide race at Iowa in August 2009. Keselowski also took the checkered flag for the most recent event there last August.

Kyle Busch (July 2010), Elliott Sadler (August 2012) and Trevor Bayne (June 2013) have also won a Nationwide race at Iowa. Sadler has finished no worse than eighth in his six starts there. He is the only driver to win a Nationwide event from the pole at this track.

The closest margin of victory in a Nationwide race at Iowa occurred on Aug. 6, 2011 when Stenhouse beat Carl Edwards by just 0.066 seconds.

Mike Bliss is the only driver on the entry list that has competed in each of the previous eight Nationwide races at Iowa. Justin Allgaier, Michael Annett and Morgan Shepherd have also competed in all eight events there.

The next race is the May 24 History 300 at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Kyle Busch won last year's event there.

05/13 23:09:55 ET

As of May 13, 2014, at 11:10 PM ET
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments |