Special Event:
Yearly Schedules:
MLB Extras
More MLB
MLB Gaming
MLB Odds
More Baseball

MLB announces award finalists

Secaucus, NJ (Sports Network) - Triple Crown winner Miguel Cabrera of the Detroit Tigers and Angels' rookie Mike Trout have been named as finalists for the AL MVP award.

For the first time, the Baseball Writers' Association of America named the five finalists for both the AL and NL MVP Award, along with finalists for the 2012 Cy Young, Manager of the Year and Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year awards.

Cabrera and Trout are joined by Rangers teammates Adrian Beltre and Josh Hamilton along with Yankees second baseman Robinson Cano.

Last year's NL MVP Ryan Braun of Milwaukee headlined the group from the NL that includes Padres third baseman Chase Headley, Pirates outfielder Andrew McCutchen, Giants catcher Buster Posey and Cardinals backstop Yadier Molina.

Detroit ace Justin Verlander, the reining AL Cy Young winner, Tampa Bay's David Price and Jered Weaver of the Angels are finalists in the AL, while Mets knuckleballer R.A. Dickey, Washington's Gio Gonzalez and 2011 NL winner Clayton Kershaw of the Dodgers round out the NL nominees.

Trout was also named a finalist for the AL Rookie of the Year along with A's outfielder Yoenis Cespedes and Rangers pitcher Yu Darvish. Washington's Bryce Harper, Cincinnati's Todd Frazier and Wade Miley of Arizona are all in consideration in the NL.

World Series champion Giants manager Bruce Bochy, Reds skipper Dusty Baker and Davey Johnson of the Nationals were all named nominees for the NL Manager of the Year.

The A's Bob Melvin, Orioles' Buck Showalter and Robin Ventura of the White Sox are all being considered for the AL honor.

11/07 21:42:03 ET