LPGA - Manulife LPGA Classic Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, June 4th through Sunday, June 7th
SITE: Whistle Bear Golf Club, Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
COURSE ARCHITECT: John Robinson (2001)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 6,657
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 410 yds10 - Par 4 379 yds
2 - Par 4 392 yds11 - Par 4 405 yds
3 - Par 5 500 yds12 - Par 5 469 yds
4 - Par 4 403 yds13 - Par 4 348 yds
5 - Par 3 149 yds14 - Par 3 171 yds
6 - Par 4 407 yds15 - Par 4 381 yds
7 - Par 4 404 yds16 - Par 5 555 yds
8 - Par 3 155 yds17 - Par 3 182 yds
9 - Par 5 516 yds18 - Par 4 431 yds
36 3,336 yds36 3,321 yds
Annual:  4th
Television:  Golf Channel - Thursday/Friday -- 12-2 p.m. (et),
  - Saturday -- 2:30-5:30 p.m. (et),
  - Sunday -- 2-5 p.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  Inbee Park
Runner-Up:  Cristie Kerr
Tournament Record:  258 (Hee Young Park, Angela Stanford, 2013)
54-Hole Record:  193 (Hee Young Park, 2013)
36-Hole Record:  127 (Catriona Matthew, 2013)
18-Hole Record:  61 (Hee Young Park, 2013; Inbee Park, 2014 - Grey Silo GC)
Total Purse:  $1,500,000
Shares:  1st Place - $225,000; 2nd Place - $136,988; 3rd Place - $99,375
2014 Finish
Inbee Park261Stacy Lewis269
Cristie Kerr264Michelle Wie269
Shanshan Feng266Chella Choi270
Belen Mozo268Suzann Pettersen270
Lydia Ko268Four players at271
Past Manulife LPGA Classic Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2014Inbee Park (261) -- Cristie Kerr
2013*Hee Young Park (258) -- Angela Stanford
2012*Brittany Lang (268) -- Inbee Park, Chella Choi, Hee Kyung Seo

* - Won in Playoff

Top Contenders in the Field
Inbee ParkT-2T-14Won
Cristie Kerr------2nd
Shanshan FengT-7mc3rd
Lydia Ko------T-4
Stacy LewisT-5T-6T-6
Suzann PettersenT-23T-6T-8
Chella ChoiT-2T-16T-8
Hee Young ParkT-31WonT-10
So Yeon RyuT-5T-20T-10
Anna NordqvistT-7T-26T-10
Na Yeon ChoiT-40T-614th
Angela StanfordT-502ndT-15
Catriona Matthew---3rdT-15
Brittany LangWonmcT-59
Hyo Joo Kim---------
Brittany Lincicome---------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Inbee Park
Darkhorse - Kelly Shon
Last Week's Pick to Win (Lexi Thompson) - Missed the cut
Last Week's Darkhorse (Candie Kung) - Missed the cut
The LPGA Tour travels to Canada this week for the Manulife LPGA Classic in Cambridge, Ontario. The top-10 players in the world are in the field, led by the big three of Lydia Ko, Inbee Park and Stacy Lewis.

The tournament is being held at Whistle Bear Golf Club for the first time. The course was designed by John Robinson and opened for play in 2001. Grey Silo Golf Course hosted the first three years of the event.

Ko currently leads the money list by more than $60,000 over Park. Both players have won twice this season. Lewis is still looking for her first victory of the year. She has three runner-up finishes and seven top-10's in 11 events.

A strong Canadian contingent will be in force this week, led by top Canadian Brooke Henderson, who is ranked 69th in the world. The 17-year-old was the top-ranked women amateur golfer in the world before turning professional in December. Her best finish this year was a tie for third at the Swinging Skirts LPGA Classic in April.

Inbee Park dropped birdie after birdie on her way to a final-round 10-under 61, giving her a 3-shot victory over Cristie Kerr last year. Park, who entered the day two shots off the lead, made 10 birdies in her final round and she ended at 23-under-par 261 for the tournament. Park's 61 tied the course record set by 2013 champion Hee Young Park. It was also the lowest final-round score by a winner in LPGA Tour history.

Brittany Lang rolled in a short birdie putt on the third playoff hole in 2012 to capture her first LPGA Tour title. Lang toppled Hee Kyung Seo, Chella Choi and third-round leader Inbee Park in the playoff. Choi was eliminated on the first extra hole, then Park was knocked out on the second hole. It came down to Lang and Seo, and Lang poured in a 5-footer for birdie to get the victory. Lang became the first Duke graduate to win on the LPGA Tour.

The LPGA Tour heads to New York next week for the second major of the season, the KPMG Women's PGA Championship at Westchester Country Club in Harrison, where Inbee Park will defend her title.

06/02 14:32:45 ET

As of June 2, 2015, at 02:33 PM ET
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments | SportsNetworkdata.com