LPGA - Jamie Farr Toledo Classic Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, August 9th through Sunday, August 12th
SITE: Highland Meadows Golf Club, Sylvania, Ohio
COURSE ARCHITECT: Harold Weber (1925), Sandy Alves (1928),
         Arthur Hills (1974)
PAR: 71
YARDAGE: 6,428
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 347 yds10 - Par 4 376 yds
2 - Par 3 162 yds11 - Par 4 391 yds
3 - Par 4 380 yds12 - Par 4 395 yds
4 - Par 4 375 yds13 - Par 4 355 yds
5 - Par 4 392 yds14 - Par 3 184 yds
6 - Par 3 155 yds15 - Par 4 389 yds
7 - Par 5 575 yds16 - Par 4 400 yds
8 - Par 3 132 yds17 - Par 5 513 yds
9 - Par 4 375 yds18 - Par 5 532 yds
34 2,893 yds37 3,535 yds
Annual:  27th
Television:  None
Defending Champion:  Na Yeon Choi
Runner-Up:  Christina Kim, I.K. Kim, Song-Hee Kim
Tournament Record:  261 (Se Ri Pak, 1998)
54-Hole Record:  195 (Se Ri Pak, 1998; Paula Creamer, 2008; Eunjung Yi, 2009)
36-Hole Record:  125 (Paula Creamer, 2008)
Course Record:  60 (Paula Creamer, 2008)
Total Purse:  $1,300,000
Shares:  1st Place - $195,000; 2nd Place - $119,470; 3rd Place - $86,125
2010 Finish
Na Yeon Choi *270Inbee Park272
Christina Kim270Meena Lee273
I.K. Kim270Katherine Hull273
Song-Hee Kim270Hee Young Park273
Jiyai Shin271Six players at274

* - Won in Playoff

Past Jamie Farr Toledo Classic Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2011Not Held
2010*Na Yeon Choi (270) -- Christina Kim, I.K. Kim, Song-Hee Kim
2009*Eunjung Yi (266) -- Morgan Pressel
2008Paula Creamer (268) -- Nicole Castrale
2007Se Ri Pak (267) -- Morgan Pressel
2006*Mi Hyun Kim (266) -- Natalie Gulbis
2005*Heather Young (274) -- Gloria Hee Jung Park
2004Meg Mallon (277) -- Se Ri Pak, Karen Stupples
2003Se Ri Pak (271) -- Marisa Baena, Hee-Won Han
2002Rachel Teske (270) -- Beth Bauer
2001Se Ri Pak (269) -- Maria Hjorth
2000*Annika Sorenstam (274) -- Rachel Teske
1999*Se Ri Pak (276) -- Kelli Kuehne, Carin Koch, Sherri Steinhauer,
Karrie Webb, Mardi Lunn
1998Se Ri Pak (261) -- Lisa Hackney
1997Kelly Robbins (265) -- Tammie Green
1996Joan Pitcock (204) -- Marianne Morris
1995Kathryn Marshall (205) -- Sherri Steinhauer
1994*Kelly Robbins (204) -- Tammie Green
1993Brandie Burton (201) -- Hollis Stacy
1992Patty Sheehan (209) -- Brandie Burton, Tammie Green, Heather Drew,
Deb Richard
1991*Alice Miller (205) -- Deb Richard
1990Tina Tombs (205) -- JoAnne Carner, Chris Johnson
1989Penny Hammel (206) -- Nancy Lopez, Liselotte Neumann, Hollis Stacy
1988Laura Davies (277) -- Nancy Lopez
1987Jane Geddes (280) -- Jill Briles-Hinton, Nancy Taylor
1986Not Held
1985Penny Hammel (278) -- Nancy Lopez
1984Lauri Peterson (278) -- Nancy Lopez

* - Won in Playoff

Note:Formerly called Jamie Farr Toledo Classic (1984-96), Jamie Farr Kroger
Classic (1997-2003), Jamie Farr Owens Corning Classic (2004-10).

Top Contenders in the Field
Na Yeon Choi------------------------T-33Won
Christina Kim------mcT-56T-43T-13T-21mcT-54T-2
I.K. Kim------------------T-7T-68mcT-2
Jiyai Shin------------------------T-175th
Inbee Park------------------mc---T-256th
Katherine Hull---------T-22T-48mcT-216thT-29T-7
Meena Lee------------T-36mcmcT-30T-54T-7
Kristy McPherson------------------T-18T-7mcT-10
Momoko Ueda---------------------T-22T-5416th
Eun-Hee Ji---------------------3rdT-21T-17
Angela Stanfordmc------T-47T-19T-79T-79thT-49T-22
Morgan Pressel------------T-23T-542nd---2ndT-26
Stacy Lewis---------------mcT-51T-17mcT-26
Brittany Lincicome------------------T-18T-7mcT-39
Natalie Gulbis---T-757thT-40T-192ndT-65mcT-21T-45
H. Bowie YoungT-3T-28T-4mcWonT-75T-68T-1782ndT-68
Paula Creamer------------T-53rdmcWondqmc
Yani Tseng------------------------T-6---
Azahara Munoz------------------------T-10---
Ai Miyazato------------------------T-33---
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Paula Creamer
Darkhorse - Ilhee Lee
Last Week's Pick to Win (Amy Yang) - Finished tied for 24th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Mika Miyazato) - Finished tied for 16th
The LPGA Tour travels to Ohio this week for the return of the Jamie Farr Toledo Classic. This tournament returns to the schedule this year after not being held in 2011. The top three players in the world are in the field - Yani Tseng, American Stacy Lewis and U.S. Women's Open champion Na Yeon Choi.

Lewis currently leads the money list by more than $104,000 over Ai Miyazato. Tseng is third on the money list, more than $184,000 behind Lewis. Tseng, Lewis and Miyazato are the only players who have multiple victories in 2012. Tseng is the only player with three wins, but has struggled lately. After starting the season with eight straight top-10 finishes, Tseng has not finished better than tied for 12th in her last five events. In her last four events, she has missed two cuts and finished tied for 50th and tied for 59th. Lewis is a native of Toledo, Ohio and should have a hometown advantage this week. She leads the LPGA Tour with 10 top-10 finishes in 2012.

This is the 23rd straight year that Highland Meadows is hosting the tournament. Prior to Highland Meadows, Glengarry Country Club hosted the first four years of the event. Highland Meadows was designed by Harold Weber, a nationally prominent amateur golfer, after the property was purchased September 15, 1925. The original prospectus gave a total of 140 acres of high rolling land through which the Ottawa River quietly meanders. It is believed that this description resulted in the club's name. The original layout of the golf course is how the LPGA plays the course, however the membership plays with the nines reversed.

In 2010, Choi made a short birdie putt to win a four-way playoff, picking up her third career LPGA Tour victory. Her opponents in the playoff all had the same name: Christina Kim, I.K. Kim and Song-Hee Kim. Choi beat them all with a three-foot birdie putt on the second extra hole for a wire-to-wire victory.

In 2009, Eunjung Yi birdied the first playoff hole to defeat Morgan Pressel for her first LPGA Tour title. Yi carded rounds of 68-66-61-71 and finished with Pressel at 18-under-par 266.

In 2008, Paula Creamer struggled to a two-over 73 in the final round, but it was enough for a two-shot victory over Nicole Castrale. She led wire-to-wire and finished at 16-under 268 for her third of four wins in 2008. Creamer opened the tournament with a 60, the second-lowest score in LPGA Tour history, then followed with a 65. That score on Friday got Creamer within one shot of the tour record for lowest 36-hole score.

Se Ri Pak fended off Pressel in the final round back in 2007 to win this event for the fifth time. Pak led wire-to-wire after opening with a first-round 63 for the low round of the tournament. She fired four rounds in the 60s to finish at 17-under-par 267.

Pak has dominated this tournament. She has five wins and nine top-10 finishes in her last 12 appearances. Pak has a scoring average of 68.46 at Highland Meadows Golf Club. Not to mention, Pak has earned $1,025,105 in her last 12 trips here. However, she is not in the field this week.

In 2006, with a long birdie putt at the third playoff hole, Mi Hyun Kim won over Natalie Gulbis. Kim came from as many as four shots back to tie Gulbis for the lead, making three birdies on the back nine in her final round, including two straight at the 16th and 17th holes.

There are three multiple winners of this tournament, led by Pak's five titles. Kelly Robbins and Penny Hammel are two-time champions. There have been eight playoffs in tournament history.

Next week, the LPGA Tour moves to Oregon for the Safeway Classic, where Suzann Pettersen won last year.

08/07 15:34:02 ET

As of August 7, 2012, at 03:34 PM ET
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments | SportsNetworkdata.com