LPGA - Walmart NW Arkansas Championship
From The Sports Network

DATES: Friday, June 29th through Sunday, July 1st
SITE: Pinnacle Country Club, Rogers, Arkansas
COURSE ARCHITECT: Don Sechrest and Bruce Lietzke (1989),
         Randy Heckenkemper (2008-09)
PAR: 71
YARDAGE: 6,284
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 311 yds10 - Par 4 335 yds
2 - Par 5 539 yds11 - Par 3 142 yds
3 - Par 3 156 yds12 - Par 4 366 yds
4 - Par 4 425 yds13 - Par 4 403 yds
5 - Par 4 338 yds14 - Par 5 545 yds
6 - Par 3 199 yds15 - Par 3 147 yds
7 - Par 5 509 yds16 - Par 4 391 yds
8 - Par 4 402 yds17 - Par 3 189 yds
9 - Par 4 341 yds18 - Par 5 546 yds
36 3,220 yds35 3,064 yds
Annual:  6th
Television:  Golf Channel - Friday -- 6:30-8:30 p.m. (et),
  - Saturday/Sunday -- 5-7 p.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  Yani Tseng
Runner-Up:  Amy Yang
Tournament Record:  200 (Yani Tseng, 2010)
36-Hole Record:  132 (Meena Lee, Eun-Hee Ji, 2008; Michelle Wie, 2010)
Course Record:  62 (Angela Park, Jane Park, 2008)
Total Purse:  $2,000,000
Shares:  1st Place - $300,000; 2nd Place - $182,650; 3rd Place - $132,500
2011 Finish
Yani Tseng *201Sandra Gal204
Amy Yang201Belen Mozo204
Ai Miyazato202Paula Creamer205
Cristie Kerr203Stacy Lewis205
Amy Hung204Six players at206
Past Walmart NW Arkansas Championship Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2011*Yani Tseng (201) -- Amy Yang
2010Yani Tseng (200) -- Michelle Wie
2009*Jiyai Shin (204) -- Sun Young Yoo, Angela Stanford
2008Seon Hwa Lee (201) -- Jane Park, Meena Lee
2007@#(a) Stacy Lewis (65) -- Teresa Lu, Kristy McPherson, Katherine Hull

* - Won in Playoff

@ - Not an official event

# - Rain Shortened

NOTE:Formerly called LPGA NW Arkansas Championship (2007);
P&G NW Arkansas Championship (2008-10).

Top Contenders in the Field
Yani Tseng---T-14WonWon
Amy Yang---mcT-652nd
Ai MiyazatoT-3T-10T-93rd
Cristie KerrT-11T-27T-324th
Stacy LewisT-49T-21T-9T-8
Paula CreamerT-63T-14---T-8
Na Yeon ChoiT-8T-7T-9T-10
Brittany LincicomeT-29mcT-16T-10
Chella Choi---T-50T-23T-10
Suzann Pettersen------T-23T-10
Mika Miyazato---T-633rdT-22
Brittany LangmcT-44mcT-22
Morgan PresselT-17T-36T-16T-25
Angela Stanford---T-2T-70T-25
Inbee Park10thmc4thT-38
Kristy McPhersonT-3T-36T-5T-38
Stacy PrammanasudhT-43T-21T-29T-38
Hee Kyung Seo---------T-48
Jane ParkT-2T-21T-32T-69
Eun-Hee JiT-8T-27T-41T-69
Seon Hwa LeeWonT-10T-5mc
Shanshan FengT-58mcT-47---
Lexi Thompson------T-57---
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Shanshan Feng
Darkhorse - Mika Miyazato
Last Week's Pick to Win (Stacy Lewis) - Finished tied for 5th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Karrie Webb) - Finished tied for 40th
The LPGA Tour travels to Arkansas this week for the Walmart NW Arkansas Championship. The top 6 players in the world are in the field - Yani Tseng, Stacy Lewis, Shanshan Feng, Na Yeon Choi, Suzann Pettersen and Ai Miyazato.

World No. 1 and two-time defending champion Tseng will be looking for her tour-leading fourth win of the year. Lewis is the only other player with at least two wins. Lewis has finished in the top 5 in her last 5 events. She trails Tseng by nearly $100,000 on the money list. Feng followed up her victory at the Wegmans LPGA Championship with a top 10 finish at the Manulife Financial LPGA Classic.

This week's event is being held at Pinnacle Country Club, which was designed by Don Sechrest and opened for play in 1989. The 2007 tournament was the first in Arkansas for the LPGA Tour since the 1956 Arkansas Open, won by Patty Berg.

Last year, Tseng squandered a chance to win in regulation, but was given a reprieve in a playoff with Amy Yang. After Yang pulled a four-foot birdie putt left on the par-five 18th, the first playoff hole, Tseng made her birdie chance from the same distance to win her second straight title at this tournament.

In 2010, Tseng collected five birdies on the back nine, including one on the final hole, to fend off Michelle Wie and win. Tseng closed with a 6-under 65 to finish her fifth LPGA Tour title at 13-under-par 200, a new tournament scoring record. Seon Hwa Lee established the old mark of 201 in 2008.

In 2007, Lewis' 7-under 65 held up as the best score in what officials believed was the first full-length LPGA Tour event ever shortened to 18 holes. Lewis, then an amateur and the 2007 NCAA champion, finished her round on Saturday before a weather suspension left 32 players still needing to complete rounds on Sunday. The LPGA Tour did not credit Lewis with an official win. Statistics and earnings were also not counted as official for the 2007 LPGA Tour season. It was believed to be a first for the LPGA Tour. There have been unofficial tour events where only an 18-hole score was recorded, as well as some official 18-hole events in 1952. Spectators were not allowed on the soggy Pinnacle Country Club grounds to watch the final 32 players complete their rounds on Sunday.

The LPGA Tour heads to Kohler, Wisconsin next week for the third major championship of the season, the U.S. Women's Open, where So Yeon Ryu will defend her title.

06/26 16:45:27 ET

As of June 26, 2012, at 04:45 PM ET
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments | SportsNetworkdata.com