LPGA - Honda LPGA Thailand Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, February 16th through Sunday, February 19th
SITE: Siam Country Club (Pattaya Old Course), Chonburi, Thailand
COURSE ARCHITECT: I. Izumi (1971), Lee Schmidt (2007)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 6,477
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 375 yds10 - Par 4 387 yds
2 - Par 5 537 yds11 - Par 5 500 yds
3 - Par 3 164 yds12 - Par 3 178 yds
4 - Par 4 382 yds13 - Par 5 520 yds
5 - Par 4 287 yds14 - Par 4 396 yds
6 - Par 5 515 yds15 - Par 4 354 yds
7 - Par 4 382 yds16 - Par 3 172 yds
8 - Par 3 145 yds17 - Par 4 423 yds
9 - Par 4 400 yds18 - Par 4 360 yds
36 3,187 yds36 3,290 yds
Annual:  6th
Television:  Golf Channel - Thursday/Friday -- 12:30-2:30 p.m. (et) - taped,
  - Saturday -- 3-6 p.m. (et) - taped,
  - Sunday -- 3-6:30 p.m. (et) - taped
Defending Champion:  Yani Tseng
Runner-Up:  Michelle Wie
Tournament Record:  267 (Suzann Pettersen, 2007; Ai Miyazato, 2010)
54-Hole Record:  196 (Suzann Pettersen, 2007)
36-Hole Record:  130 (Suzann Pettersen, 2010)
18-Hole Record:  63 (Suzann Pettersen, 2007; Stacy Prammanasudh, 2009;
  Ai Miyazato, 2010; I.K. Kim, 2011)
Total Purse:  $1,500,000
Shares:  1st Place - $225,000; 2nd Place - $136,988; 3rd Place - $99,375
2011 Finish
Yani Tseng273Juli Inkster282
Michelle Wie278Amy Yang283
Karrie Webb279Five players at285
I.K. Kim279
Paula Creamer280
Past Honda LPGA Thailand Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2011Yani Tseng (273) -- Michelle Wie
2010Ai Miyazato (267) -- Suzann Pettersen
2009Lorena Ochoa (274) -- Hee Young Park
2008Tournament Not Held
2007Suzann Pettersen (267) -- Laura Davies
2006Hee-Won Han (202) -- Diana D'Alessio

Top Contenders in the Field
Yani TsengT-73rdWon
Michelle Wie---T-222nd
Karrie WebbT-19T-4T-3
I.K. KimT-42T-11T-3
Paula Creamer3rdwd5th
Suzann PettersenT-422ndT-8
Na Yeon ChoiT-13T-13T-15
Cristie KerrT-19T-4T-18
Stacy Lewis---T-22T-18
Brittany Lincicome---T-26T-18
Katherine HullT-40T-32T-18
Anna Nordqvist---31stT-26
Ai MiyazatoT-22WonT-29
Angela StanfordT-7T-16T-29
Jiyai ShinT-13T-22T-35
Se Ri PakT-53T-32T-35
Hee-Won HanT-46T-38T-35
Morgan PresselT-22T-26T-38
Amanda Blumenherst---T-18T-43
Brittany LangT-4T-32T-46
Hee Young Park2ndT-11T-57
Julieta Granada---------
Hee Kyung Seo---------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Yani Tseng
Darkhorse - Katie Futcher
Last Week's Pick to Win (Suzann Pettersen) - Finished tied for 22nd
Last Week's Darkhorse (Sandra Gal) - Finished tied for 51st
The 2012 LPGA Tour season continues this week with the first of two straight events in Asia. This is the sixth installment of the Honda LPGA Thailand. An outstanding field is on hand, as the top-five players in the world are expected to play - Defending champion Yani Tseng, 2007 champion Suzann Pettersen, Na Yeon Choi, Cristie Kerr and Paula Creamer. American teenager Jessica Korda won the season-opening ISPS Handa Women's Australian Open last week, but is not playing in this tournament. Creamer and Michelle Wie will make their season debuts this week.

The field this week is comprised of 70 players - 60 LPGA Tour players and 10 sponsor invites. The purse increased $50,000 from last year to $1.5 million, with the winner receiving $225,000.

Last year, Tseng shot a six-under 66 in the final round to win. Tseng, who won the previous two weeks on the Ladies European Tour to claim the top spot in the world for the first time, finished at 15-under par 207 and ended with a convincing five-stroke win over Wie at Siam Country Club. She was nearly flawless, posting seven birdies and just a single bogey in the final round.

In 2010, Ai Miyazato erased a six-shot deficit in the final round with a course-record tying nine-under 63 to come from behind and win by one over Pettersen. Miyazato finished at 21-under-par 267 to match Pettersen's tournament scoring record. Pettersen set the mark when she won in 2007.

In 2009, Lorena Ochoa fired a six-under 66 in the final round to come from behind and win by three strokes over Hee Young Park. Ochoa rallied from three back to win her 25th LPGA Tour title. She finished at 14-under-par 274.

Pettersen drained a 15-foot eagle putt on the 72nd hole in 2007 to defeat Laura Davies by one stroke and win this tournament for her fifth LPGA Tour victory in 2007. Davies missed her 25-foot eagle attempt on the same hole and settled for birdie to end one shot back. Pettersen fired a course-record 63 in the third round to jump in front by seven strokes. She settled for a 71 in the final round to hang on for the win.

Amateur Ariya Jutanugarn qualified for this event in 2007, becoming the youngest player to qualify for an LPGA event. She was 11 years, 11 months and 2 days old at the start of the tournament. Michelle Wie held the previous mark when she qualified for the 2002 LPGA Takefuji Classic at 12 years, 4 months and 14 days old. Jutanugarn finished in a tie for 48th after rounds of 75-74-74. Ariya will also play in the event this year, along with her sister Moriya. Ariya finished tied for eighth last year.

In 2006, Hee-Won Han posted her third consecutive round in the 60s in the final round to run away with this event, her sixth career victory and second win of 2006. Han shot a five-under 67 in the final round, completing the first-ever LPGA tournament in Thailand at 14-under-par 202 for a five-shot victory over Diana D'Alessio.

The LPGA Tour concludes its two-week stay in Asia next week with the HSBC Women's Champions in Singapore, where Karrie Webb won last season.

02/14 16:46:59 ET

As of February 14, 2012, at 04:47 PM ET
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments | SportsNetworkdata.com