LPGA - HSBC Women's Champions Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, February 23rd through Sunday, February 26th
SITE: Tanah Merah Country Club (Garden Course), Singapore
COURSE ARCHITECT: Thompson, Wolveridge, Fream & Associates (1984),
         Max Wexler (1990), Phil Jacobs (2004 - redesign)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 6,547
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 401 yds10 - Par 4 382 yds
2 - Par 4 381 yds11 - Par 3 172 yds
3 - Par 3 140 yds12 - Par 4 384 yds
4 - Par 4 394 yds13 - Par 5 512 Yds
5 - Par 5 531 yds14 - Par 3 169 yds
6 - Par 4 415 yds15 - Par 5 554 yds
7 - Par 4 384 yds16 - Par 4 269 yds
8 - Par 3 153 yds17 - Par 4 395 yds
9 - Par 5 497 yds18 - Par 4 414 yds
36 3,296 yds36 3,251 yds
Annual:  5th
Television:  Golf Channel - Thursday/Friday -- 9:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m. (et) - taped
  - Saturday/Sunday -- 2-6 p.m. (et) - taped
Defending Champion:  Karrie Webb
Runner-Up:  Chie Arimura
Tournament Record:  268 (Lorena Ochoa, 2008)
54-Hole Record:  200 (Lorena Ochoa, 2008)
36-Hole Record:  131 (Lorena Ochoa, 2008)
Course Record:  65 (Lorena Ochoa, 2008)
Total Purse:  $1,400,000
Shares:  1st Place - $210,000; 2nd Place - $127,855; 3rd Place - $92,750
2011 Finish
Karrie Webb275Na Yeon Choi282
Chie Arimura276I.K. Kim284
Yani Tseng278Catriona Matthew285
Sun Young Yoo280Stacy Lewis286
Morgan Pressel281Cristie Kerr286
Past HSBC Women's Champions Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2011Karrie Webb (275) -- Chie Arimura
2010Ai Miyazato (278) -- Cristie Kerr
2009Jiyai Shin (277) -- Katherine Hull
2008Lorena Ochoa (268) -- Annika Sorenstam

Top Contenders in the Field
Karrie WebbT-5T-9T-19Won
Yani Tseng---T-11T-33rd
Morgan PresselT-8T-39T-385th
Na Yeon ChoiT-14T-31T-96th
I.K. KimT-8T-26T-77th
Cristie KerrwdT-112ndT-9
Stacy Lewis------T-38T-9
Jiyai Shin7thWonT-3T-11
Song-Hee Kim---T-18T-3T-11
Ai MiyazatoT-18T-26WonT-14
Brittany LincicomeT-53---T-26T-14
Suzann PettersenT-30T-14T-3T-16
Christina KimT-8T-31T-29T-16
Katherine HullT-232ndT-21T-21
Paula Creamer3rdT-3---T-24
Anna Nordqvist------T-29T-30
Vicky Hurst---T-73T-7T-35
Hee Young Park---T-31T-9T-37
Angela StanfordT-12T-3T-9T-40
Michelle Wie------T-15T-40
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Yani Tseng
Darkhorse - Shanshan Feng
Last Week's Pick to Win (Yani Tseng) - Finished 1st
Last Week's Darkhorse (Angela Stanford) - Finished tied for 33rd
The LPGA Tour travels to Singapore this week for the HSBC Women's Champions. The best female golfers in the world will compete at Tanah Merah Country Club for the $210,000 first prize. The top-five players in the world are in the field - Yani Tseng, Na Yeon Choi, Suzann Pettersen, Cristie Kerr and Paula Creamer. Tseng won the Honda LPGA Thailand last week.

The top-20 players from the Rolex Women's World Ranking (as of December 31, 2011), winners on the LPGA Tour from 2011, HSBC Women's Champions winners, the 2012 Honda LPGA Thailand winner, two sponsor invites and the Singapore qualifier are in the select field of 63 players this week. Leading players on the 2011 LPGA Tour money list not otherwise qualified fill the field.

The HSBC Women's Champions is the first official stroke-play event that the LPGA Tour has played in Singapore. Tanah Merah Country Club in Singapore is the site of this week's event and has hosted the Singapore Open, the Johnnie Walker Classic on the European Tour and the Lexus Cup on the LPGA Tour. Ian Woosnam won the Johnnie Walker Classic on the European Tour at Tanah Merah in 1996. Team International defeated Team Asia at the Lexus Cup in 2005 at Tanah Merah, while Team Asia defeated the International Team in 2006.

Last year, Karrie Webb shot rounds of 70-66-70-69 to win. Webb finished at 13-under par 275, one stroke better than Chie Arimura, who held the lead in each of the first three rounds. It was the 37th career LPGA Tour victory for Webb. She also won the RR Donnelley LPGA Founders Cup last year to push her total to 38. Her total number of victories is 12th all-time, two behind Carol Mann.

In 2010, Ai Miyazato won for the second week in a row on the LPGA Tour when she titled at this event. Miyazato shot a three-under 69 in the final round and finished at 10-under 278, two strokes clear of Cristie Kerr.

In 2009, Jiyai Shin fired a six-under 66 in the final round to come from behind and win. She finished at 11-under 277 and won by two strokes over third-round leader Katherine Hull, who tallied a double-bogey and two bogeys on her back nine for a two-over 74. It was Shin's first victory as an LPGA member.

In 2008, Lorena Ochoa endured three rain delays in the final round to cruise to victory. Ochoa, who fired rounds of 66-65-69-68, was the only player in the field to shoot all four rounds in the 60s. She held an eight-shot third-round lead and finished the tournament at 20-under 268. That was good enough for an eye-opening, 11-stroke victory over Annika Sorenstam.

The LPGA Tour moves back across the Pacific Ocean to Arizona in three weeks for the RR Donnelley LPGA Founders Cup in Phoenix, where Webb will defend her title.

02/21 13:21:01 ET

As of February 21, 2012, at 01:21 PM ET
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments | SportsNetworkdata.com