LPGA - ShopRite LPGA Classic Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Friday, June 1st through Sunday, June 3rd
SITE: Stockton Seaview Hotel and Golf Club (Bay Course), Galloway, New Jersey
COURSE ARCHITECT: Hugh Wilson (1914), Donald Ross (1915),
         Robert Cupp Jr. (restoration, 1997-98)
PAR: 71
YARDAGE: 6,155
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 345 yds10 - Par 4 352 yds
2 - Par 4 420 yds11 - Par 3 179 yds
3 - Par 5 484 yds12 - Par 4 320 yds
4 - Par 4 360 yds13 - Par 4 405 yds
5 - Par 4 301 yds14 - Par 4 419 yds
6 - Par 4 393 yds15 - Par 3 204 yds
7 - Par 3 185 yds16 - Par 4 377 yds
8 - Par 4 319 yds17 - Par 3 115 yds
9 - Par 5 476 yds18 - Par 5 501 yds
37 3,283 yds34 2,872 yds
Annual:  24th
Television:  Golf Channel - Friday -- 12:30-2:30 p.m. (et),
  - Saturday -- 2:30-6 p.m. (et),
  - Sunday -- 2-6 p.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  Brittany Lincicome
Runner-Up:  Cristie Kerr, Jiyai Shin
Tournament Record:  196 (Annika Sorenstam, 1998, 2005)
36-Hole Record:  130 (Amy Benz, 1996; Denise Killeen, 2004)
Course Record:  62 (Laura Davies, Jimin Kang, 2005)
Total Purse:  $1,500,000
Shares:  1st Place - $225,000; 2nd Place - $136,988; 3rd Place - $99,375
2011 Finish
Brittany Lincicome202Anna Nordqvist205
Cristie Kerr203Yani Tseng206
Jiyai Shin203Karrie Webb207
Catriona Matthew204Brittany Lang207
I.K. Kim205Mindy Kim207
Past ShopRite LPGA Classic Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2011Brittany Lincicome (202) -- Cristie Kerr, Jiyai Shin
2010Ai Miyazato (197) -- M.J. Hur
2009Not Held
2008Not Held
2007Not Held
2006Seon Hwa Lee (197) -- Jeong Jang, Annika Sorenstam, Sherri Steinhauer
2005Annika Sorenstam (196) -- Juli Inkster
2004Cristie Kerr (202) -- Paula Creamer, Giulia Sergas
2003Angela Stanford (197) -- Becky Morgan
2002Annika Sorenstam (201) -- Carin Koch, Kate Golden, Juli Inkster
2001Betsy King (201) -- Lorie Kane
2000Janice Moodie (203) -- Pat Hurst, Grace Park
1999Se Ri Pak (198) -- Trish Johnson
1998Annika Sorenstam (196) -- Juli Inkster
1997Michelle McGann (201) -- Annika Sorenstam
1996Dottie Pepper (202) -- Amy Benz
1995Betsy King (204) -- Rosie Jones, Beth Daniel
1994Donna Andrews (207) -- Michelle Estill
1993Shelley Hamlin (204) -- Judy Dickinson, Amy Benz, Beth Daniel
1992*Anne-Marie Palli (207) -- Laura Davies
1991Jane Geddes (208) -- Cindy Schreyer, Amy Alcott
1990Chris Johnson (275) -- Pamela Wright
1989Nancy Lopez (209) -- Chris Johnson, Vicki Fergon
1988*Juli Inkster (206) -- Beth Daniel
1987Betsy King (207) -- Nancy Lopez
1986Juli Inkster (209) -- Patti Rizzo

* - Won in Playoff

Note:Formerly called Atlantic City Classic (1986-91).

Top Contenders in the Field
Brittany Lincicome------T-18---T-72Won
Cristie KerrmcWonT-11T-13T-22T-2
Catriona MatthewT-21T-42T-3T-25T-164th
Anna Nordqvist------------T-12T-5
I.K. Kim---------------T-5
Yani Tseng------------T-147th
Karrie Webb---T-6T-13T-13T-8T-8
Maria HjorthmcT-52mcmcmc14th
Ai Miyazato---------T-13WonT-20
Katherine Hull---mcT-68mcT-4T-20
Natalie GulbisT-29mcT-9T-19T-22T-20
Michelle WieT-52---------T-46T-26
Sandra Gal------------mcT-26
Paula Creamer---T-2T-62T-97thT-33
Seon Hwa Lee---------WonT-22T-45
Angela StanfordWonmcmcT-19T-8T-52
Candie Kung---T-52T-39T-49T-22T-52
Na Yeon Choi------------T-59T-52
Lorie KaneT-3T-52T-27T-70T-35T-59
Morgan Pressel---------T-5T-8mc
Stacy Lewis------------T-14mc
Azahara Munoz------------T-16mc
Sun Young Yoo---------T-55T-72mc
Suzann PettersenT-47T-36mcT-55T-4---
Karine Icher------T-27T-25T-8---
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Stacy Lewis
Darkhorse - Karine Icher
Last week's Pick to Win (So Yeon Ryu) - Finished tied for 5th
Last week's Darkhorse (Azahara Munoz) - Finished 1st
The LPGA Tour heads to New Jersey this week for the ShopRite LPGA Classic. The top five players in the world are in the field, led by world No. 1 Yani Tseng. She is joined by Na Yeon Choi, Suzann Pettersen, 2010 champion Ai Miyazato and 2004 champion Cristie Kerr.

Tseng currently leads the money list by more than $324,000 over Azahara Munoz. She has three victories this year and is the only player with more than one. Tseng has finished in the top 10 in all eight events she has played on the LPGA Tour in 2012.

Munoz has finished in the top four in her last three events and the top 15 in her last five events. She captured her first career LPGA Tour title two weeks ago at the Sybase Match Play Championship.

Stockton Seaview Hotel and Golf Club hosted this event the first two years of its existence, followed by Greate Bay Resort and Country Club the next 10 years, before returning to Seaview in 1998.

Last year, Brittany Lincicome got up and down for birdie on the final hole to win. Lincicome shot rounds of 72-64-66 to end at 11-under-par 202. It was her fourth LPGA Tour title, but first since winning the 2009 Kraft Nabisco Championship.

In 2010, Ai Miyazato collected her fourth of five LPGA Tour titles in 2010 and the victory moved her to No. 1 in the world rankings at the time. Miyazato fired a seven-under 64 in the final round to come from behind for the win. She finished at 16-under 197 and won the title by two shots.

In 2006, Seon Hwa Lee fired an eight-under 63 in the final round to come from behind and earn her first LPGA Tour title. She finished at 16-under-par 197 for a three-shot victory over Jeong Jang, Annika Sorenstam and Sherri Steinhauer.

Sorenstam eagled the final hole on the last day to cap a round of seven-under 64 in 2005 and earn her third title at this event. Sorenstam completed the 54-hole event at 17-under-par 196, matching her tournament record from 1998.

Juli Inkster, a two-time winner of this tournament, has finished in the top-10 at 13 times. Betsy King has finished in the top-10 seven times, including three wins. King gained entrance into the LPGA Hall of Fame with her win here in 1995.

There have been six wire-to-wire winners, the last being Angela Stanford in 2003. There have been only two playoffs in tournament history, the last coming in 1992 when Anne-Marie Palli defeated Laura Davies on the first playoff hole.

The LPGA Tour moves to Pittsford, New York next week for the second major of the season. Tseng will defend her title at the Wegmans LPGA Championship at Locust Hill Country Club.

05/29 16:07:01 ET

As of May 29, 2012, at 04:07 PM ET
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments | SportsNetworkdata.com