LPGA - Sybase Match Play Championship Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, May 17th through Sunday, May 20th
SITE: Hamilton Farm Golf Club, Gladstone, New Jersey
COURSE ARCHITECT: Dr. Michael Hurdzan and Dana Fry (1999)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 6,553
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 381 Yds10 - Par 4 329 Yds
2 - Par 5 483 Yds11 - Par 5 530 Yds
3 - Par 3 190 Yds12 - Par 3 178 Yds
4 - Par 4 409 Yds13 - Par 4 382 Yds
5 - Par 5 496 Yds14 - Par 4 409 Yds
6 - Par 4 384 Yds15 - Par 4 401 Yds
7 - Par 4 421 Yds16 - Par 3 155 Yds
8 - Par 3 170 Yds17 - Par 4 324 Yds
9 - Par 4 396 Yds18 - Par 5 515 Yds
36 3,330 Yds36 3,223 Yds
Annual:  3rd
Television:  Golf Channel - Thursday/Friday -- 6:30-8:30 p.m. (et) - taped,
  - Saturday -- 3-6 p.m. (et),
  - Sunday -- 1-2 p.m. (et), 4-6 p.m. (et)
Schedule of Play:  Thursday - Round One - 32 matches
  Friday - Round Two - 16 matches
  Saturday - Round Three - 8 matches
  - Quarterfinals - 4 matches
  Sunday - Semifinals - 2 matches
  - Consolation - 1 match
  - Final - 1 match
Defending Champion:  Suzann Pettersen
Runner-Up:  Cristie Kerr
Shortest Match:  Amanda Blumenherst def. Karrie Webb, 7&6 (2010),
  Amy Yang def. Juli Inkster, 7&6, (2010)
Longest Match:  Eun Hee Ji def. Janice Moodie, 1-up - 22 holes (2010)
Total Purse:  $1,500,000
Shares:  1st Place - $375,000; 2nd Place - $225,000; 3rd Place - $150,000;
  4th Place - $112,500; Quarterfinalist - $37,500;
  3rd Round - $18,750; 2nd Round - $7,739; 1st Round - $3,864
2011 Finish
Suzann PettersenWonSophie GustafsonT-5
Cristie Kerr2ndAi MiyazatoT-5
Na Yeon Choi3rdYani TsengT-5
Angela Stanford4thEight players tied atT-9
Paula CreamerT-5
Past Sybase Match Play Championship Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2011Suzann Pettersen (1-up) -- Cristie Kerr
2010Sun Young Yoo (3&1) -- Angela Stanford

Top Contenders in the Field
Suzann PettersenT-33Won
Cristie KerrT-172nd
Na Yeon ChoiT-333rd
Angela Stanford2nd4th
Yani TsengT-5T-5
Sophie GustafsonT-17T-5
Ai MiyazatoT-17T-5
Paula Creamer---T-5
Michelle WieT-5T-9
Stacy LewisT-33T-9
Sun Young YooWonT-17
Karrie WebbT-17T-17
Anna NordqvistT-33T-17
Jiyai Shin3rdT-33
Amy Yang4thT-33
Song-Hee KimT-9T-33
Morgan PresselT-9T-33
Maria HjorthT-17T-33
Brittany LincicomeT-33T-33
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - So Yeon Ryu
Darkhorse - Azahara Munoz
Last Week's Pick to Win (Suzann Pettersen) - Finished tied for 10th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Brittany Lang) - Finished tied for 5th
The LPGA Tour travels to New Jersey this week for the Sybase Match Play Championship. This event is being held at Hamilton Farm Golf Club in Gladstone. The top five players in the world are in the field, led by world No. 1 Yani Tseng, who also leads the money list. She is joined by Na Yeon Choi, defending champion Suzann Pettersen, Ai Miyazato and Cristie Kerr.

Tseng has won three times in 2012. She is the only multiple winner on tour. Tseng has finished in the top-10 in all seven events she has played. She needs to reach the semifinals to eclipse the $1 million mark in earnings for the season.

A field of 64 of the best players in the world will compete in a match-play format for a purse of $1.5 million, with the winner receiving $375,000. This is the 12th year that Sybase has been the title sponsor of an LPGA Tour event. The Sybase Classic was held from 2001-2009. Some of the winners of that event are Sherri Steinhauer, Annika Sorenstam, Rosie Jones, Paula Creamer and Lorena Ochoa. Creamer is in the field this week.

The brackets of this tournament are named for the four LPGA players with the most LPGA career wins - Kathy Whitworth (88), Mickey Wright (82), Annika Sorenstam (72) and Patty Berg (60). The 64 players in the field are seeded based on their world rankings.

Last year, Pettersen battled illness all week, but still managed to top Kerr, 1-up, in the final to win. Pettersen earned her seventh LPGA victory, as she never trailed in the championship match. She won four of her six matches on the final hole.

In 2010, Sun Young Yoo claimed a 3 & 1 win over Angela Stanford in the final. For Yoo, it was her first victory on the LPGA Tour. She may have had the hardest path to the title, as she took down the first, fourth, fifth and 10th-ranked players in the world en route to the win.

The last time the LPGA Tour staged an official match-play event prior to 2010 was the 2007 HSBC Women's Match Play Championship at Wykagyl Country Club in New Rochelle, New York, where Seon Hwa Lee captured the title. Hamilton Farm Golf Club, hosted the 2005 and 2006 HSBC Women's Match Play Championship. Marisa Baena won the tournament in 2006 and Brittany Lincicome in 2007.

The LPGA Tour remains in New Jersey in two weeks for the ShopRite LPGA Classic in Galloway, where Lincicome won the 2011 tournament.

05/15 15:04:59 ET

As of May 15, 2012, at 03:05 PM ET
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments | SportsNetworkdata.com