CHAMPIONS - Insperity Invitational Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Friday, May 1st through Sunday, May 3rd
SITE: The Woodlands Country Club (Tournament Course), The Woodlands, Texas
COURSE ARCHITECT: Robert von Hagge and Bruce Devlin (1978),
         Carlton Gipson (1996, renovation)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 7,018
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 5 520 Yds10 - Par 4 421 Yds
2 - Par 4 371 Yds11 - Par 4 417 Yds
3 - Par 3 158 Yds12 - Par 4 377 Yds
4 - Par 4 413 Yds13 - Par 5 533 Yds
5 - Par 4 456 Yds14 - Par 3 190 Yds
6 - Par 5 573 Yds15 - Par 5 521 Yds
7 - Par 4 414 Yds16 - Par 3 175 Yds
8 - Par 3 237 Yds17 - Par 4 382 Yds
9 - Par 4 418 Yds18 - Par 4 442 Yds
36 3,560 Yds36 3,458 Yds
Annual:  12th
Television:  Golf Channel - Friday -- 2:30-4:30 p.m. (et),
  - Saturday -- 7:30-9:30 p.m. (et) - taped,
  - Sunday -- 5-7 p.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  Bernhard Langer
Runner-Up:  Fred Couples
Tournament Record:  191 (Bernhard Langer, 2007)
36-Hole Record:  127 (Bernhard Langer, 2007)
Course Record:  63 (Fred Couples, 2010; Michael Allen, 2011)
18-Hole Record:  62 (Bernhard Langer, 2007 - Augusta Pines)
Total Purse:  $2,050,000
Shares:  1st Place - $307,500; 2nd Place - $176,000; 3rd Place - $144,000
2014 Finish
Bernhard Langer205Tom Pernice Jr.210
Fred Couples206Bart Bryant211
Colin Montgomerie207Russ Cochran211
Esteban Toledo209Four players at212
Jay Haas210
Past Insperity Invitational Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2014Bernhard Langer (205) -- Fred Couples
2013*Esteban Toledo (210) -- Mike Goodes, Gene Sauers
2012Fred Funk (202) -- Tom Lehman
2011#Brad Faxon (134) -- Tommy Armour III
2010Fred Couples (199) -- Mark Wiebe
2009John Cook (205) -- Jay Haas, Bob Tway
2008Bernhard Langer (204) -- Lonnie Nielsen
2007Bernhard Langer (191) -- Mark O'Meara
2006#Jay Haas (128) -- Bruce Lietzke, Tom Purtzer
2005Mark McNulty (200) -- Gil Morgan
2004*Larry Nelson (202) -- Hale Irwin

* - Won in Playoff

# - Weather Shortened

NOTE:Formerly called Administaff Small Business Classic (2004-10),
Insperity Championship (2011-13).

Top Contenders in the Field
Bernhard Langer------WonWonT-4T-13T-16T-4T-25Won
Fred Couples---------------WonT-10------2nd
Colin Montgomerie---------------------------3rd
Esteban Toledo------------------------Won4th
Jay HaasT-5WonT-4T-6T-2T-24T-4T-31T-6T-5
Tom Pernice Jr.---------------T-7------T-40T-5
Bart Bryant------------------------T-16T-7
Fred Funk------T-183rdT-19T-13---WonT-25T-9
Jeff Maggert---------------------------T-9
Michael Allen------------------T-24T-4T-16T-13
Mark O'Meara------2ndT-62T-23T-42T-27---T-8T-15
Billy Andrade---------------------------T-15
Dan Forsman---------T-20T-4T-3T-27T-4T-8T-18
Peter Senior---------------T-24T-8T-13T-20T-18
Mark McNultyWonT-32T-18---T-50---T-34T-41T-56T-21
Gene Sauers------------------------T-2T-23
Kenny Perry------------------T-35T-19T-25T-23
Jeff Sluman------T-1212thT-30T-30T-24T-13T-8T-27
Olin Browne------------T-7T-35T-4T-13---T-27
Mike Goodes---------T-53T-71T-49T-413rdT-2T-35
Loren Roberts---T-16---T-6T-26T-9T-16T-19T-4T-39
John Cook------T-36T-39WonT-5T-10T-51T-8T-47
David Frost------------T-10T-9T-16T-27T-20T-47
Brad Faxon------------------WonT-5177thT-47
Tom Lehman------------T-4T-9T-42nd------
Marco Dawson------------------------------
Joe Durant------------------------------
Paul Goydos------------------------------
Lee Janzen------------------------------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Bernhard Langer
Darkhorse - Tom Pernice Jr.
Last Week's Pick to Win (B. Langer and T. Lehman) - Did not play together
Last Week's Darkhorse (M. O'Meara and N. Price) - Did not play together
The Champions Tour travels to Texas this week for the Insperity Invitational at The Woodlands. A stellar field is on hand, not to mention some local favorites, as well as players who have had success in the Lone Star state. The purse increased $50,000 from last year to $2.05 million, with the winner receiving $307,500.

The top five players on the money list are in the field, including money leader Olin Browne. Browne captured his second career Champions Tour title two weeks ago at the Greater Gwinnett Championship. His other victory came at the 2011 U.S. Senior Open. Browne has four top-10 finishes this year in six events.

Last year, Bernhard Langer held at least a share of the lead following every round as he claimed this title for the third time. He finished at 11-under-par 205 for a one-stroke win over Fred Couples. With the victory, Langer became the 10th Champions Tour player with 20 career victories on the senior circuit. Langer went on to win three more times in 2014 and is now tied for fifth place on the all-time Champions Tour wins list with 23.

In 2013, Esteban Toledo parred the third playoff hole to win for the first time on the Champions Tour. Toledo tied the low round of the final day with a 5-under 67 to meet Gene Sauers and Mike Goodes at 6-under-par 210. Toledo became the first Q-school graduate to win on the Champions Tour since Eduardo Romero won the 2006 JELD-WEN Tradition. Toledo's 6-under was the highest score to win a 54-hole tournament since Jerry Pate won the 2008 Turtle Bay Championship with a 5-under-par 211.

In 2012, Fred Funk birdied four of the last five holes in the final round, including the 18th, to beat Tom Lehman by one shot. Funk was the only player to fire three rounds in the 60s and ended at 14-under-par 202. It was his seventh Champions Tour title.

Brad Faxon was declared the winner in 2011 when heavy rain forced the cancellation of the final round. The tournament was shortened to 36 holes and Faxon, the second-round leader, earned his first Champions Tour victory in only his sixth start on the over-50 circuit. Faxon's 7-under 65 in the second round was enough to give him the title at 10-under 134. Faxon became the first Champions Tour player to earn his maiden victory in a rain-shortened event since Leonard Thompson in 1998.

In 2010, Couples fired a 29 on the back nine in the final round that turned a 2-stroke deficit into a 7-shot victory. Couples finished with a 9-under 63 on the final day and got through 54 holes at 17-under 199. It was Couples' fourth victory of 2010, but his first in seven months. He joined Jay Haas and Bob Charles as the only players to win in Houston on the PGA Tour and Champions Tour.

Langer shot rounds of 62-65-64 in 2007 to cruise to an 8-shot victory over Mark O'Meara for his first Champions Tour victory. He closed the tournament with 34 consecutive bogey-free holes. Langer finished with an overall score of 25-under 191 to smash the tournament scoring record by nine shots and match the Champions Tour record for a 54-hole score. He also broke the course record with a 62 in the first round and established a new 36-hole mark at 127. Langer's win came in only his fourth start on the Champions Tour.

Arnold Palmer made his last official tour playing appearance in Houston in 2006 at this event. Palmer won two times on the PGA Tour (1957, 66) and one unofficial Champions Tour event in 1984 (Doug Sanders Celebrity Pro-Am) in Houston.

The Champions Tour heads to Alabama in two weeks for the first Champions Tour major of the year, the Regions Tradition at Shoal Creek, where Kenny Perry will defend his title.

04/29 08:26:41 ET

As of April 29, 2015, at 08:27 AM ET
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments |