Golf Extras
More Golf
WEB.COM - Stonebrae Classic Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, July 31st through Sunday, August 3rd
SITE: TPC Stonebrae, Hayward, California
COURSE ARCHITECT: David McLay Kidd (2007)
PAR: 70
YARDAGE: 7,024
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 397 Yds10 - Par 4 396 Yds
2 - Par 3 204 Yds11 - Par 4 461 Yds
3 - Par 5 625 Yds12 - Par 3 193 Yds
4 - Par 3 160 Yds13 - Par 4 479 Yds
5 - Par 4 377 Yds14 - Par 4 326 Yds
6 - Par 3 188 Yds15 - Par 5 606 Yds
7 - Par 4 469 Yds16 - Par 3 176 Yds
8 - Par 4 465 Yds17 - Par 4 466 Yds
9 - Par 5 598 Yds18 - Par 4 438 Yds
35 3,483 Yds35 3,541 Yds
Annual:  5th
Television:  None
Defending Champion:  Alex Aragon (Not defending)
Runner-Up:  Paul Haley II, Matt Harmon, Duffy Waldorf
Tournament Record:  264 (Kevin Chappell, 2010)
54-Hole Record:  198 (David Hearn, 2010; Daniel Chopra, 2011)
36-Hole Record:  129 (David Hearn, 2010)
Course Record:  61 (Daniel Chopra, 2011; Matt Harmon, 2012)
Total Purse:  $600,000
Shares:  1st Place - $108,000; 2nd Place - $64,800; 3rd Place - $40,800
2012 Finish
Alex Aragon270Rob Oppenheim272
Paul Haley II271Russell Knox273
Matt Harmon271Tyrone Van Aswegen273
Duffy Waldorf271Josh Broadaway274
Bio Kim272Michael Putnam274
Past Stonebrae Classic Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2013Not Held
2012Alex Aragon (270) -- Paul Haley II, Matt Harmon, Duffy Waldorf
2011Daniel Chopra (198) -- Russell Knox, Luke List
2010Kevin Chappell (264) -- David Hearn
2009Michael Sim (266) -- John Kimbell, Cameron Percy
Note:Formerly called Stonebrae Classic (2009), Fresh Express Classic
at TPC Stonebrae (2010-11), TPC Stonebrae Championship (2012).

Top Contenders in the Field
Paul Haley II---------T-2
Paul ClaxtonmcT-5049thT-54
Luke List---T-12T-2mc
Casey Wittenberg---T-30---mc
Andres Gonzales---------mc
John KimbellT-2T-5730thwd
Jason Gore---T-5039thwd
Alex Cejka------------
Carlos Ortiz------------
Andrew D. Putnam------------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Carlos Ortiz
Darkhorse - Luke List
Last Week's Pick to Win (Andrew D. Putnam) - Finished tied for 24th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Chase Wright) - Finished tied for 41st
The Tour returns to the San Francisco Bay area for the first time in two years for the Stonebrae Classic in Hayward, California. TPC Stonebrae played host to the Tour from 2009 through 2012. No tournament was played in 2013 to make way for construction of the clubhouse, which officially opened in June.

TPC Stonebrae was designed by David McLay Kidd and opened in 2007. Kidd has designed many courses around the world, including Bandon Dunes in Oregon and the Castle Course at St. Andrews. The course was named by several golf publications as "one of the best new golf courses for 2007."

In 2012, Alex Aragon carded a 4-under 66 in the final round to come from behind and win. Aragon, who won for the first time on the Tour, finished at 10-under-par 270 and won by a single stroke over Paul Haley II, Matt Harmon and Duffy Waldorf. Aragon entered the final round tied for seventh, but rallied for his first tour win thanks to five birdies and a bogey in his final round.

Daniel Chopra was named the winner after fog produced a big enough delay of the final round in 2011 that it was canceled. Chopra won for the first time on the Tour since the 2004 Henrico County Open and first time anywhere since a PGA Tour win at the 2008 Mercedes-Benz Championship. It was his third Tour win overall. Chopra had the best round of his career in the third round with a course-record, 9-under 61, and it was enough to give him a 1-shot victory over Luke List and Russell Knox. Nobody other than Chopra had a round better than 64 through the three rounds.

In 2010, Kevin Chappell used two late birdies in the final round to shoot a 6-under 65 and earn his first Tour victory. Chappell finished the tournament at 20-under 264 and won by one stroke.

Michael Sim fired a 7-under 64 in the final round back in 2009 to cruise to an easy 6-shot victory at the inaugural event. Sim finished at 18-under 266 and captured his first of three victories in his 2009 Player of the Year campaign.

The Tour heads to Missouri next week for the Price Cutter Charity Championship in Springfield, where Andrew Svoboda captured the 2013 title.

07/29 14:55:31 ET

As of July 29, 2014, at 02:55 PM ET

Nationwide Tour News
· Five share Stonebrae Championship lead

· Sucher hangs on to win Midwest Classic

· Sucher remains in lead at Midwest Classic

More News