WEB.COM - Colombia Championship
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, February 28th through Sunday, March 3rd
SITE: The Country Club of Bogota (Fundadores Course), Bogota, Colombia
COURSE ARCHITECT: John van Kleek (1946)
PAR: 71
YARDAGE: 7,237
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 431 Yds10 - Par 3 228 Yds
2 - Par 4 525 Yds11 - Par 4 439 Yds
3 - Par 4 382 Yds12 - Par 4 457 Yds
4 - Par 4 355 Yds13 - Par 5 585 Yds
5 - Par 3 235 Yds14 - Par 4 382 Yds
6 - Par 4 413 Yds15 - Par 3 207 Yds
7 - Par 3 180 Yds16 - Par 4 406 Yds
8 - Par 5 555 Yds17 - Par 4 440 Yds
9 - Par 4 447 Yds18 - Par 5 570 Yds
35 3,523 Yds36 3,714 Yds
Annual:  4th
Television:  None
Defending Champion:  Skip Kendall
Runner-Up:  Andres Gonzales, Andrew Svoboda
Tournament Record:  273 (Steve Pate, Aaron Watkins, 2010)
54-Hole Record:  202 (Steve Pate, 2010)
36-Hole Record:  132 (Billy Horschel, 2012)
Course Record:  64 (Kirk Triplett, Will Wilcox, 2012)
Total Purse:  $700,000
Shares:  1st Place - $126,000; 2nd Place - $75,600; 3rd Place - $47,600
2012 Finish
Skip Kendall274Tom Hoge277
Andres Gonzales275Kevin Johnson277
Andrew Svoboda275Bronson La'Cassie277
James Hahn276Charles Warren277
Kirk Triplett276Michael Connell278
Past Colombia Championship Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2012Skip Kendall (274) -- Andres Gonzales, Andrew Svoboda
2011#Brenden Pappas (133) -- Matt Every
2010*Steve Pate (273) -- Aaron Watkins

* - Won in Playoff

# - Weather Shortened

Note:Formerly called Pacific Rubiales Bogota Open (2010-11),
Pacific Rubiales Colombia Championship (2012).

Top Contenders in the Field
Skip KendallT-40mcWon
Andrew SvobodamcmcT-2
Tyrone Van Aswegen---T-8T-13
Manuel VillegasT-15T-19T-33
Steve Friesen------T-46
Brenden Pappas---WonT-66
Cliff KresgemcT-13T-66
Scott DunlapT-20mcmc
Len Mattiace------mc
Scott BrownT-29T-3---
Mathew Goggin---mc---
Bobby GatesT-63------
Kevin Foley---------
Jordan Spieth---------
Roland Thatcher---------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Scott Brown
Darkhorse - Jordan Spieth
Last Week's Pick to Win (Morgan Hoffmann) - Finished tied for 21st
Last Week's Darkhorse (Cliff Kresge) - Finished tied for 44th
The Web.com Tour remains in South America for the second straight week to kick off the 2013 season with the Colombia Championship. Kevin Foley won the season-opening Panama Claro Championship last week. The top-8 finishers from Panama are in the field this week. Skip Kendall will attempt to become the first player in Web.com Tour history to successfully defend his title.

The tournament will be played at the Country Club of Bogota on the Fundadores (Founders) Course, which was founded in 1917. It was the first club in Colombia to have a golf course. The club features two 18-hole golf courses and serves as one of Colombia's most important sports infrastructures. The Country Club of Bogota has hosted the Colombian Open 10 times. Bernhard Langer won the event contested here in 1980.

Last year, Kendall sank a 25-foot birdie putt on the final hole to earn a 1-shot win over Andres Gonzales and Andrew Svoboda. Kendall shot rounds of 70-67-66-71 and finished at 10-under-par 274. It was his fourth victory on the Web-com Tour, and first since the 2007 Louisiana Open.

In 2010, former PGA Tour winner Steve Pate parred the second playoff hole to defeat Aaron Watkins and win the inaugural tournament. Pate shot rounds of 70-66-66-71 to finish at 11-under-par 273 with Watkins. It was his first win anywhere since the 1998 CVS Charity Classic on the PGA Tour. It was Pate's first Web.com Tour victory, but he is a six-time winner on the PGA Tour and a two-time United States Ryder Cupper.

The 2010 tournament was the first Web.com Tour event ever held in South America. PGA Tour player Camilo Villegas is a native of Colombia. Villegas played in the pro-am in 2010 and conducted a youth event. He then flew to Florida and won the PGA Tour's Honda Classic. His younger brother, Manuel, is playing in this tournament. Manuel finished tied for 33rd last year.

The Web.com Tour concludes its three-week stay in South America next week with the Chile Classic, where Paul Haley II captured the 2012 title.

02/26 16:15:05 ET

As of February 26, 2013, at 04:15 PM ET
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments | SportsNetworkdata.com