WEB.COM - Panama Claro Championship Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, February 21st through Sunday, February 24th
SITE: Panama Golf Club, Panama City, Panama
COURSE ARCHITECT: Jay Reviere (1976)
PAR: 70
YARDAGE: 7,171
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 413 Yds10 - Par 4 440 Yds
2 - Par 4 432 Yds11 - Par 4 502 Yds
3 - Par 4 473 Yds12 - Par 5 605 Yds
4 - Par 5 525 Yds13 - Par 3 189 Yds
5 - Par 4 413 Yds14 - Par 4 417 Yds
6 - Par 3 218 Yds15 - Par 4 422 Yds
7 - Par 4 409 Yds16 - Par 4 432 Yds
8 - Par 3 156 Yds17 - Par 3 175 Yds
9 - Par 4 485 Yds18 - Par 4 465 Yds
35 3,524 Yds35 3,647 Yds
Annual:  10th
Television:  None
Defending Champion:  Edward Loar
Runner-Up:  Ryan Armour, Luke List, Cameron Percy, Brian Smock
Tournament Record:  265 (Fran Quinn, 2010)
54-Hole Record:  194 (Fran Quinn, 2010)
36-Hole Record:  130 (Tripp Isenhour, 2006)
Course Record:  61 (Ryan Armour, 2011)
Total Purse:  $600,000
Shares:  1st Place - $108,000; 2nd Place - $64,800; 3rd Place - $40,800
2012 Finish
Edward Loar276Justin Bolli279
Ryan Armour277Brad Fritsch280
Luke List277Peter Lonard280
Cameron Percy27710 players at281
Brian Smock277
Past Panama Claro Championship Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2012Edward Loar (276) -- Ryan Armour, Luke List, Cameron Percy, Brian Smock
2011Mathew Goggin (269) -- Darron Stiles, Alistair Presnell
2010Fran Quinn (265) -- Brian Smock
2009Vance Veazey (273) -- Garrett Willis
2008Scott Dunlap (277) -- Arjun Atwal, Jeff Klauk
2007Miguel Carballo (274) -- Hunter Haas, Jim McGovern, Patrick Sheehan
2006Tripp Isenhour (269) -- K.Gessino-Kraft, P.McLachlin, B.Pappas
2005Vance Veazey (272) -- C.Villegas, J.McGovern, J.Mills, S.Bertsch
2004Jimmy Walker (273) -- Tom Scherrer
Note:Formerly called Panama Digicel Championship (2009), Movistar Panama
Championship (2006-08), BellSouth Panama Championship (2004-05).

Top Contenders in the Field
Edward Loar------------------------Won
Peter Lonard---------------------mcT-7
Skip Kendall---------mcT-17T-13------T-25
Ron Whittaker---------mc---mcmcT-13T-38
Camilo Benedetti---------T-5mcT-1350thT-18T-38
Andrew Svoboda------------------T-42T-38T-43
Scott Dunlap------T-60mcWonmcT-36mcT-51
Mark D. Anderson------------------T-4T-13T-64
Fran QuinnT-58mcT-37mc---mcWonmcT-68
Sam Saunders---------------------T-10T-73
Cliff Kresge---T-44T-25---------mcT-6mc
Vance VeazeyT-38Won---T-32T-19Won---mcmc
Mathew Goggin---------------------Won---
Miguel A. Carballo---------WonmcmcT-16T-49---
Morgan Hoffmann---------------------------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Morgan Hoffmann
Darkhorse - Cliff Kresge
Last Week's Pick to Win - Tour Championship (Robert Streb) - Finished T-25
Last Week's Darkhorse - Tour Championship (Steve LeBrun) - Finished T-35
The 2013 Web.com Tour season kicks off this week in Central America with the Panama Claro Championship. A fixture on the Caribbean Tour for years, this tournament was the first Nationwide Tour event staged in Central America in 2004. The purse increased $50,000 from last year to $600,000, with the winner receiving $108,000.

Three players that finished in the top 25 on the 2012 money list and earned their PGA Tour cards are in the field this week. Morgan Hoffmann, Andrew Svoboda and Jim Herman are playing this week because they did not qualify for the WGC-Accenture Match Play Championship on the PGA Tour. Former major champions Rich Beem, Todd Hamilton and Shaun Micheel are also in the field.

Last year, Edward Loar birdied the 16th hole in the final round with a 25-foot putt to break free of the pack, then parred out to secure his first Web.com Tour victory. Prior to this tournament, he had never been in first after a round on the tour. Loar finished at 4-under 276, one stroke ahead of Cameron Percy, Ryan Armour, Luke List and Brian Smock. Loar became the sixth left-handed winner in Web.com Tour history. This week, Loar will attempt to become the first player in tour history to successfully defend his title.

In 2011, Australian Mathew Goggin shot rounds of 68-66-67-68 to win by two strokes over Darron Stiles and Alistair Presnell. Goggin, who won for the third time on the Web.com Tour, finished at 11-under-par 269. It was his first win since the 1999 Omaha Classic. The gap between wins on tour for Goggin was 11 years, six months and 19 days, the third longest stretch in tour history.

Fran Quinn jumped in front by five strokes following a third-round, course- record 62 and held on to win by two over Smock in 2010. Quinn, who picked up his fourth Web.com Tour title, finished at 15-under-par 265. After smashing the 54-hole scoring record, Quinn also crushed the 72-hole scoring mark of 269, which Tripp Isenhour set in 2006.

In 2009, Vance Veazey made a two-putt par to win a playoff, collecting his fourth Web.com Tour victory. Veazey and Garrett Willis needed two extra holes to decide the tournament, with Veazey finally ending things at Panama Golf Club's par-4 10th hole. Veazey also won this event in 2005.

Scott Dunlap shot rounds of 65-68-73-71 in 2008 to win by one stroke over Arjun Atwal and Jeff Klauk. Dunlap finished the event at 3-under-par 277. Dunlap, Atwal, Klauk and Chris Smith were the only players to finish the tournament under par. The final round scoring average was 73.677, which made it the toughest single day in tournament history and the toughest round on the Web.com Tour in 2008.

In 2007, Miguel Angel Carballo fired a 5-under 65 in the final round to win. Carballo finished at 6-under-par 274 for a 2-shot victory over Hunter Haas, Jim McGovern and Patrick Sheehan. With his victory in 2007, Carballo became the first player from Argentina to win a Web.com Tour event. His victory came at the same course, Panama Golf Club, where another famous Argentine golfer won the Panama Open, Hall of Famer Roberto De Vicenzo.

The Web.com Tour travels to South America next week for the Colombia Championship, where Skip Kendall will defend his title.

02/19 15:09:05 ET

As of February 19, 2013, at 03:09 PM ET
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments | SportsNetworkdata.com