More Hockey

Gilroy wins 2009 Hobey Baker Award

Washington, DC (Sports Network) - The Hobey Baker Memorial Award Executive Committee announced Friday that Boston University senior defenseman Matt Gilroy was named the 29th winner of college hockey's most prestigious individual honor.

Named after a legendary Princeton hockey player who died in World War I, the award recognizes strength of character in players both on and off the ice.

Gilroy, who is captain of the Terriers, has posted eight goals and 36 points in 43 games. He led all Hockey East backliners in points and also ranks third in the nation in point total.

He is the second player in Boston University history to earn the honor, after current New York Rangers captain Chris Drury was named in 1998.

Gilroy is the first Hobey winner with a chance to lead his team to a national championship since Minnesota defenseman Jordan Leopold did so in 2002. That year, the Golden Gophers topped Maine in overtime for the title.

He is also the first player from Hockey East to win since Boston College senior defenseman Mike Mottau won in 2000.

Brad Thiessen, junior goalie from Northeastern, and Colin Wilson, sophomore forward and Gilroy's teammate from BU, were the other two finalists.

University of Michigan forward Ryan Porter took home the award last season.

04/10 20:07:32 ET