More Hockey

Gerbe, Jones, Porter three finalists for Hobey Baker Award

St. Paul, MN (Sports Network) - Boston College forward Nathan Gerbe, Miami- Ohio forward Ryan Jones and Michigan forward Kevin Porter were named the three finalists for the Hobey Baker Award, presented annually to college hockey's most outstanding player.

The winner will be announced next Friday in Denver, site of this year's Frozen Four.

Gerbe has posted 30 goals and 30 assists in 41 games and enters next week's Frozen Four ranked second in the nation in points and third nationally in goals. The Eagles play North Dakota next Thursday in the national semifinals.

Jones captained the RedHawks to a school-record 33 victories during the 2007-08 campaign and finished with 31 goals, giving him 90 for his career. That is second on the school's all-time scoring list.

Porter has led the Wolverines into the Frozen Four for a game against Notre Dame next Thursday. He leads the nation in goals (33) and points (62).

Michigan's only Hobey Baker Award winner is Brendan Morrison, who won it in 1997. Mike Mottau (2000) was the last player to win the honor for Boston College, while no player has ever captured it for Miami-Ohio.

North Dakota forward Ryan Duncan was the winner last year.

The three finalists were selected from an initial list of top ten candidates by a 25-member selection committee.

04/02 20:51:29 ET