More Hockey

Michigan heads NCAA men's ice hockey championship field

Indianapolis, IN (Sports Network) - The NCAA men's ice hockey committee announced the 16-team championship field on Sunday with the Michigan Wolverines taking the top overall seed.

Michigan (31-5-4) will begin its trek to the Frozen Four against Niagara (22-10-4) in Albany, New York. No. 2 St. Cloud State (19-15-5) will square off against Clarkson (21-12-4) in the other East regional matchup.

Miami-Ohio (32-7-1), the top seed in the Northeast regional, will take on Air Force (21-11-6) in Worcester, Massachusetts while second seed Boston College (21-11-8) will face Minnesota (19-16-0) in the other regional semifinal.

North Dakota (26-10-4) tops the Midwest regional and will take on Princeton (21-13) in Madison, Wisconsin. In the other Midwest semifinal, Denver (26-13-1) will take on host school Wisconsin (15-16-7), the only team to make the field with a sub-.500 record.

New Hampshire (25-9-3) is the top seed in the West regional and will face Notre Dame (24-15-4) in Colorado Springs. No. 2 Colorado College (28-11-1) will encounter Michigan State (24-11-5) in the other West contest.

First-round games in the East and West regionals will take place on March 28 with the championship contests slated for March 29. The Midwest and Northeast regionals will hold first-round games on March 29 and each region's two winners will square off on March 30.

The Frozen Four will take place on April 10 in Denver, with the East champion skating against the West champion and the Northeast regional champion squaring off against the Midwest winner.

The championship game is slated for April 12 at 7 p.m. (et).

Michigan State topped Boston College, 3-1, to win the 2007 national championship at the Scottrade Center in St. Louis. Maine and North Dakota also reached the 2007 Frozen Four.

03/23 14:50:07 ET