By Craig Haley, FCS Exec. Director - Archive - Email
Ten FCS running backs to watch
As a freshman, Towson running back Terrance West won the inaugural Jerry Rice Award.
Philadelphia, PA (Sports Network) - It may not be the year for offensive coordinators across the Football Championship Subdivision to be overly fancy with their game plans.

Just give the ball to the running back and let him go.

Indeed, this is the year of the running backs nationally.

The stable of FCS backs is an embarrassment of riches. An All-America team can go three or four teams deep and some obvious candidates will still be left off the list.

Among the backs returning this season are seven finalists for the 2011 Walter Payton Award: Indiana State's Shakir Bell, Wofford's Eric Breitenstein, Bryant's Jordan Brown, Youngstown State's Jamaine Cook, Sam Houston State's Tim Flanders, Delaware's Andrew Pierce and Towson's Terrance West.

It will be interesting to watch the yards and touchdowns pile up.

Following are 10 FCS running backs to watch this season, although another group of 10 might be questioning their omission:

Zach Bauman, Northern Arizona, Jr., 5-10, 200 - A consistent runner who can calculate defenders' moves before they do them, Bauman does a lot of his damage as a workhorse between the tackles. He was a 1,000-yard rusher as a freshman in 2010 and used two 200-yard games as a sophomore last season to ground out 1,435 yards. Also an excellent pass catcher, he has 57 receptions in his career.

Shakir Bell, Indiana State, Jr., 5-8, 185 - Bell finished tied for second in the Payton voting after his sophomore season in which he rushed for 1,670 yards on a scintillating 7.26 yards per carry. He was one yard shy against South Dakota State from having five 200-yard games. Small, but powerful, his speed is nearly unstoppable in open space.

Eric Breitenstein, Wofford, Sr., 5-11, 225 - Officially listed as a fullback, don't get the wrong impression, Breitenstein has helped the Terriers' wingbone lead the FCS in rushing in each of the past two seasons. He has great feet and vision to get to the hole and move through it. He is the active FCS leader with 3,695 rushing yards and 46 touchdowns.

Top RB by FCS Conference
Big Sky: Zach Bauman, Northern Arizona; Big South: Marcus Coker, Stony Brook; CAA Football: Terrance West, Towson; Ivy: Trevor Scales, Harvard; MEAC: Mike Mayhew, North Carolina A&T; Missouri Valley: Shakir Bell, Indiana State; NEC: Jordan Brown, Bryant; OVC: Washaun Ealey, Jacksonville State; Patriot: Zach Barket, Lehigh; Pioneer: Kenny James, San Diego; SoCon: Eric Breitenstein, Wofford; Southland: Timothy Flanders, Sam Houston State; SWAC: Dawrence Roberts, Grambling State

Jordan Brown, Bryant, Sr., 5-9, 185 - By rushing for at least 100 yards in all 11 of Bryant's games last year, Brown finished with 1,815 yards to lead FCS players (Bryant was in the transitional phase to the FCS, so he was not in the official NCAA leaders). He is a workhorse who averages 30 carries a game while also getting touches on passes and returns. He had 2,500 all-purpose yards last year.

Jamaine Cook, Youngstown State, Sr., 5-9, 205 - What's Cook-ing? A potentially huge season for Youngstown State with its outstanding back leading the way. Cook sees the field and reads his blocks well. Last year, he built on a breakout sophomore season (1,276 yards) with 1,386 more yards and 14 total touchdowns.

Matt Denham, Eastern Kentucky, Sr., 5-11, 181 - Through four games last season, including three EKU losses, Denham had hardly touched the ball, getting a combined 21 carries. It all changed from there as Denham averaged 29 carries and 184.5 rushing yards over the final eight games. The former University of Kentucky player is a between-the-tackles runner who has great vision. He will work behind one of the FCS' better offensive lines this season.

Washaun Ealey, Jacksonville State, Sr., 5-11, 215 - The former University of Georgia standout slowly, but surely became the focal point of the Gamecocks' offense last season. There's no denying his skills as a runner. He rushed for 1,082 yards on over six yards per carry in his first season at JSU. He is the FCS' top 2013 NFL Draft prospect among running backs.

Timothy Flanders, Sam Houston State, Jr., 5-9, 210 - The lasting image of Flanders battering the Montana defense for 287 rushing yards in last year's FCS semifinals must stick in the heads of opposing Southland Conference coaches. Flanders, a transfer from Kansas State, is a touchdown machine, scoring 24 in 15 games last season. He rushed for 1,644 yards as the first option on a Sam Houston offense that has to spread around the touches to its offensive talent.

Andrew Pierce, Delaware, Jr., 5-11, 200 - It's hard to believe Pierce has two more seasons of eligibility remaining. He's been a standout since the first game of his freshman season and helped the Blue Hens to a national runner-up finish in 2010. He is 62 rushing yards shy of 3,000 in his career. The workhorse also has 74 career receptions.

Terrance West, Towson, Soph., 5-11, 220 - The inaugural Jerry Rice Award winner scored an FCS-high 29 touchdowns in his freshman campaign last year. His emergence, including 1,294 rushing yards, helped CAA Football's 2010 cellar dweller win a surprising conference title last season. He has the speed and power to rough up defenses.

It's worth noting that there isn't a better combination of FCS backs on one team than Stony Brook's Miguel Maysonet and Marcus Coker. Maysonet had a tag- team partner in each of the last two seasons with fellow two-time 1,000-yard back Brock Jackolski. This year, Maysonet, who rushed for 1,633 yards and 15 touchdowns last season, will share the load with Coker, a Iowa transfer who rushed for 1,384 yards to finish second to 2011 Heisman Trophy finalist Montee Ball of Wisconsin in the Big Ten in rushing.


Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 John Robertson Votes 2014 History
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 Past
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Kyle Emanuel Votes 2014 History
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 Past
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Sean McDonnell Votes 2014 History
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 Past
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Chase Edmonds Votes 2014 History
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 Past
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Winners
Mickey Charles Award
Year Winner Misc
2014 Zach Zenner History
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments |