Buchanan winner Sherritt happy to be in CFL

By Craig Haley, FCS Executive Director

Philadelphia, PA (Sports Network) - Two former Eastern Washington standouts didn't mind that 2010 Buck Buchanan Award winner J.C. Sherritt wasn't coveted by NFL teams leading up to this year's draft.

It's given quarterback Matt Nichols and defensive end Greg Peach a chance to reunite with Sherritt in the Canadian Football League. They will be teammates again after Sherritt recently signed a free agent contract with the Edmonton Eskimos. The three will even live together during the season.

J.C. Sherritt won the Buchanan Award, which honors the outstanding defensive player in the FCS.
Sherritt won the Buchanan Award, which honors the outstanding player in the FCS and is sponsored by Fathead.com, just two years after Peach. Sherritt also was the runner-up in 2009.

"It's funny," Sherritt said, "(Greg and Matt) were telling me they were hoping I would get a shot at the NFL, but they really hoped that I didn't so I would come up to Edmonton to play. Getting the opportunity to play with them again is pretty special."

Sherritt, at 5-foot-10, 220 pounds, is undersized by NFL standards, but he will seek to thrive in the CFL as he did collegiately. With 432 career tackles, he ranks first all-time at Eastern Washington, second in the Big Sky and 10th in the FCS.

He closed his career with 18 tackles on Jan. 7 while the Eagles beat Delaware to win their first FCS championship.

"That phrase is cliche, but I'm happy to keep using it: it's just an awesome opportunity to keep playing football," Sherritt said. "I'm lucky enough to be doing it with two friends as well.

"I'm always excited to get an opportunity to prove some people wrong," Sherritt added. "It seems like I've dealt with the size issue since I was a junior in high school."

Sacks or scores, contact Craig Haley at

Follow Craig Haley on Twitter and Facebook.

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 John Robertson Votes 2014 History
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 Past
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Kyle Emanuel Votes 2014 History
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 Past
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Sean McDonnell Votes 2014 History
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 Past
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Chase Edmonds Votes 2014 History
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 Past
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Winners
Mickey Charles Award
Year Winner Misc
2014 Zach Zenner History
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments | SportsNetworkdata.com