Robinson winner Samuel gets new contract

By Craig Haley, FCS Executive Director

Philadelphia, PA (Sports Network) - Tony Samuel's free agency lasted less than one day.

Samuel signed a five-year contract extension with Southeast Missouri State on Tuesday to remain the head football coach through the 2016 season. The 2010 Eddie Robinson Award winner, which is bestowed on the Football Championship Subdivision coach of the year and sponsored by, had his original five-year contract with the Ohio Valley Conference university expire on Monday.

His "free agency" was hardly an issue as both sides wanted to remain a tandem.

"Five years ago, we hired the right coach," SEMO President Kenneth W. Dobbins said. "We are pleased with Tony's style and success and look forward to many more years with him as head coach. The contract process took longer because of recruiting obligations, wanting to make sure we had the right contract in place."

Tony Samuel signed a five-year contract extension with Southeast Missouri State.
According to, the 55-year-old Samuel received a raise to just over $125,000 per year, will receive 5 percent of the net revenue of all guarantee football games and will continue to receive an annuity and revenues resulting from camps, fundraising and personal endorsements.

In 2010, Samuel led the Redhawks to their first-ever conference title and NCAA playoff berth. They went 9-3 overall and 7-1 in the OVC, tying a school record for the most wins in a season, and finished 13th in The Sports Network/ FCS Top 25 after losing to eventual FCS champion Eastern Washington in the second round of the playoffs.

Ten SEMO players received All-OVC honors and three seniors made The Sports Network/ FCS All-America Team: running back Henry Harris on the first team, guard Frank Knights on the second team and center Sean Middleton on the third team

"We have a lot of work to do to get ready for next season," Samuel said. "Now that we have signed, we are going to keep doing what we're doing."

Samuel has a 22-35 record through his five seasons at SEMO. He is 56-92 overall, having gone 34-57 at New Mexico State from 1997-2004.

For more on Samuel winning the Eddie Robinson Award, click here.

Sacks or scores, contact Craig Haley at

Follow Craig Haley on Twitter and Facebook.

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 John Robertson Votes 2014 History
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 Past
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Kyle Emanuel Votes 2014 History
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 Past
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Sean McDonnell Votes 2014 History
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 Past
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Chase Edmonds Votes 2014 History
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 Past
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Winners
Mickey Charles Award
Year Winner Misc
2014 Zach Zenner History
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments |