EWU tailback Jones declares for NFL draft

By Craig Haley, FCS Executive Director

Philadelphia, PA (Sports Network) - In a rare decision for an underclassman on the FCS level, junior tailback Taiwan Jones of Football Championship Subdivision champion Eastern Washington has made himself eligible for the NFL draft in April.

Jones, plagued by injuries over the last two seasons, missed Eastern Washington's final two games this season -- a national semifinal against Villanova and the championship game against Delaware -- because of a broken left foot.

JBScouting.com reported that Jones received a third-round grade from the NFL Advisory Board, which undoubtedly factored into his decision. KXLY-4 in Spokane reported that Jones has hired an agent.

Taiwan Jones rushed for 1,724 yards and 14 touchdowns despite missing three games.
This season, the 6-foot-1, 200-pound Jones rushed for 1,724 yards and 14 touchdowns despite missing three games and parts of two others while Eastern Washington went 13-2. Also an excellent receiver and kickoff returner, Jones' 201.8 all-purpose yards per game ranked second in the FCS.

The breakaway threat was named the Big Sky Conference Co-Offensive Player of the Year and earned first-team all-conference honors. He was a second-team selection on The Sports Network/Fathead.com FCS All-America Team and was fourth in the voting for the Walter Payton Award (sponsored by Fathead.com) which honors the outstanding player in the FCS.

In 2009, the native of Antioch, California injured both shoulders and a hand. He missed spring practices in 2010 while recovering from surgery for a sports hernia. This season's foot injury occurred in a national quarterfinal against North Dakota State.

Originally a cornerback at Eastern Washington, Jones scored on an 87-yard run on the first carry of his career in 2009. He went on to rush for 1,213 yards and 15 touchdowns on 162 carries -- an average of 7.5 yards per carry.

Sacks or scores, contact Craig Haley at

Follow Craig Haley on Twitter and Facebook.

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 John Robertson Votes 2014 History
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 Past
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Kyle Emanuel Votes 2014 History
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 Past
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Sean McDonnell Votes 2014 History
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 Past
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Chase Edmonds Votes 2014 History
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 Past
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Winners
Mickey Charles Award
Year Winner Misc
2014 Zach Zenner History
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments | SportsNetworkdata.com