Bell, Lum, Mitchell get Payton invites

By Craig Haley, FCS Executive Director

Philadelphia, PA (Sports Network) - Each knew he was being considered for the Walter Payton Award, yet none focused on it.

Instead, quarterbacks Chris Lum of Lehigh and Bo Levi Mitchell of Eastern Washington and running back Shakir Bell of Indiana State kept tunnel vision toward their next opponent.

No distractions, just production.

Chris Lum finished the regular season ranked third in the FCS in passing yards (348.6) and second in touchdown passes (31).
Now, however, the three are realizing the fruits of their outstanding seasons. Bell, Lum and Mitchell have been invited to the Football Championship Subdivision Awards Banquet on Jan. 6 in Frisco, Texas, for the announcement of the 25th Walter Payton Award. The Sports Network presents and sponsors the FCS' most prestigious award, which is given to the outstanding player in the division.

The national awards banquet will be held on the eve of the FCS Championship Game at the Embassy Suites/Frisco Convention Center. In addition to the Payton Award, the Eddie Robinson Award for FCS coach of the year will mark its silver anniversary and will be presented along with the Buck Buchanan Award, which is given to the FCS' outstanding defensive player, and the inaugural Jerry Rice Award, which honors the FCS' freshman of the year. The Sports Network also presents and sponsors those three honors.

The three top vote-getters for the Payton Award put together glowing resumes this season.

Bell, a 5-foot-7, 185-pound sophomore, was the No. 1 rusher in the FCS during the regular season, gaining 1,670 yards and 14 touchdowns on 230 carries, for 151.8 yards per game on a scintillating 7.3 yards per carry. The Missouri Valley Football Conference Offensive Player of the Year had four 200-yard games and missed a fifth one by one yard, helping Indiana State to a 6-5 record as it continued a remarkable turnaround as a program.

"I told my coach after my freshman season that I was going to make a difference on the team," Bell said.

"Actually to be considered for the Walter Payton Award, it just helps me think that I worked a little bit harder."

Bo Levi Mitchell led the FCS in passing yards (4,009) and touchdown passes (33) in the regular season.
Lum, a 6-2, 205 senior, finished the regular season ranked third in the FCS in passing yards (348.6) and second in touchdown passes (31). He completed 297 of 443 pass attempts (67 percent) for 3,739 yards, with 15 interceptions. The Patriot League Offensive Player of the Year can build on those totals as he has helped lead the league champion Mountain Hawks (10-1) to the FCS playoffs. They will play at Towson in the second round Saturday.

"It's a great feeling of getting this recognition on a national level. But I've always been one to try to stay grounded and be focused week to week and make sure I'm still a good example for the rest of the team," Lum said.

"It's definitely not a one-man show. I have an amazing supporting cast and because of their hard efforts and my hard efforts we're having this success."

Mitchell, a 6-2, 210-pound senior, led the FCS in passing yards (4,009) and touchdown passes (33) in the regular season. As Eastern Washington (6-5) suffered through an injury-plagued season, the Big Sky Conference Offensive Player of the Year helped keep the Eagles competitive, completing 318-of-503 attempts (63.2 percent), with four 400-yard games. He had 13 interceptions.

A Texas native, Mitchell will return to Frisco, where last season he was the Most Outstanding Performer in Eastern Washington's FCS Championship Game victory.

"I just tried to go out and do what you're supposed do. If those (honors) come, they come," Mitchell said.

"It became easy to me because of how good my teammates were."

Shakir Bell was the No. 1 rusher in the FCS during the regular season.
A national panel of sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries selected all of the FCS awards. In the Walter Payton Award balloting, William & Mary senior running back Jonathan Grimes finished fourth and Elon junior wide receiver Aaron Mellette was fifth.

They were followed by Towson running back Terrance West, Sam Houston State running back Tim Flanders, New Hampshire quarterback Kevin Decker, Bryant running back Jordan Brown, Jackson State quarterback Casey Therriault, Murray State quarterback Casey Brockman, Northern Iowa quarterback Tirrell Rennie, Montana State quarterback DeNarius McGhee, Wofford fullback Eric Breitenstein, Appalachian State wide receiver Brian Quick, Delaware running back Andrew Pierce, Liberty quarterback Mike Brown, Southern Utah quarterback Brad Sorensen, Youngstown State running back Jamaine Cook, Idaho State wide receiver Rodrick Rumble, Eastern Kentucky running back Matt Denham and Richmond wide receiver Tre Gray.

2011 Remaining Walter Payton Award Voting
Name School 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th Total
4. Jonathan Grimes Wm. & Mary10169188185
5. Aaron Mellette Elon25172121144
6. Terrance West Towson5111158120
7. Tim Flanders Sam Houston St107567112
8. Kevin Decker New Hampshire5499995
9. Jordan Brown Bryant28117594
10. Casey Therriault Jackson St3787586
11. Casey Brockman Murray State3575773
12. Tirrell Rennie Northern Iowa3321439
13. DeNarius McGhee Montana St. 3023835
14. Eric Breitenstein Wofford2231130
15. Brian Quick Appalachian St0251227
16. Andrew Pierce Delaware10113.13
17. Mike Brown Liberty0013110
18. Brad Sorensen Southern Utah000328
19. Jamaine Cook Youngstown St010026
20. Rodrick Rumble Idaho State000226
21. *Matt Denham Eastern Kentucky001105
22. *Tre Gray Richmond000011
* - Write-in vote
Sacks or scores, contact Craig Haley at

Follow Craig Haley on Twitter and Facebook.

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 John Robertson Votes 2014 History
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 Past
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Kyle Emanuel Votes 2014 History
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 Past
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Sean McDonnell Votes 2014 History
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 Past
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Chase Edmonds Votes 2014 History
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 Past
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Winners
Mickey Charles Award
Year Winner Misc
2014 Zach Zenner History
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments |