Four join Payton list, three go on Buchanan list

By Craig Haley, FCS Executive Director

Philadelphia, PA (Sports Network) - Excellent early season play has led to four players joining the 2011 Walter Payton Award Watch List and three others being added to Buck Buchanan Award, the two highest individual awards in the Football Championship Subdivision. Both are presented by The Sports Network and sponsored by

Joining the race for the 25th Walter Payton Award, which honors the outstanding player in the FCS, are Indiana State sophomore running back Shakir Bell, New Hampshire senior quarterback Kevin Decker, Lehigh senior quarterback Chris Lum and Idaho State junior wide receiver Rodrick Rumble. Joining the race for the Buck Buchanan Award, which is presented to the FCS' outstanding defensive player, are Presbyterian senior cornerback Justin Bethel, Prairie View A&M senior defensive end Adrian Hamilton and Northern Iowa senior linebacker L.J. Fort.

Chris Lum ranks first in the FCS in touchdown passes (19) and total offense (371 ypg) and sixth in passing efficiency (160.31).
Lum and Decker have led their teams into the national Top 10, with Lum ranking first in the FCS in touchdown passes (19) and total offense (371 ypg) and sixth in passing efficiency (160.31), and Decker fifth in passing efficiency (165.59) and eighth in total offense (310 ypg). They rank first and second in points responsible for per game (Lum, 23.6; Decker, 23.5).

Bell ranks second in rushing yards per game (153.4) and this past weekend was one yard shy of posting his third straight 200-yard game. Rumble has set the national pace in receptions per game (11) and receiving yards per game (151.4).

Among the defensive standouts, Bethel has scored three touchdowns - two off blocked kicks and one off an interception - while making plays all over the field. Hamilton is on a three-game run in which he's been a part of 10 sacks (six solos and four assists for eight total), including four against Arkansas- Pine Bluff. Fort shares the FCS lead with four forced fumbles and has made at least a dozen tackles in each of second-ranked Northern Iowa's first four games.

Each Watch List features 20 players, and their bios can be found here.

A national panel of sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries will vote on the Payton and Buchanan awards after the regular season, beginning Nov. 21. The voters also will choose winners of the inaugural Jerry Rice Award (FCS freshman of the year) and the 25th Eddie Robinson Award (FCS coach of the year) to be presented at the FCS national awards banquet Friday night, Jan. 6 in Frisco, Texas. The Sports Network also presents and sponsors those two awards.

Sacks or scores, contact Craig Haley at

Follow Craig Haley on Twitter and Facebook.

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 John Robertson Votes 2014 History
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 Past
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Kyle Emanuel Votes 2014 History
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 Past
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Sean McDonnell Votes 2014 History
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 Past
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Chase Edmonds Votes 2014 History
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 Past
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Winners
Mickey Charles Award
Year Winner Misc
2014 Zach Zenner History
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments |