Home    News    Scoreboard    Schedule    Stats    Conferences    FCS Poll
Final 1234Score
Stony Brook0143320
Preview | Matchup | Log | Wrap | Box

NCAA Game Summary - Villanova at Stony Brook

(Saturday, November 24)

Final Score: Stony Brook 20, Villanova 10

Stony Brook, NY (Sports Network) - Stony Brook football coach Chuck Priore felt his running backs could carry the load when the Seawolves learned they would be without injured quarterback Kyle Essington for their FCS playoff game against Villanova.

Had Essington been able to play Saturday, it would have been best to keep the ball in the hands of Miguel Maysonet and Marcus Coker anyway.

Maysonet rushed for 160 yards and two touchdowns and Coker added 107 yards on the ground as Stony Brook beat Villanova, 20-10, in a first-round game at LaValle Stadium.

The Seawolves (10-2), from the Big South Conference, will travel to No. 3 seed Montana State (10-1) for a second-round game on Dec. 3.

Essington, the FCS leader in passing efficiency, missed the game because of a right thigh contusion. His backup, Lyle Negron, a junior who attempted only five passes in the regular season, made his first career start.

Negron was only 3-of-6 against Villanova because the game plan relied on Maysonet and Coker, who combined for 54 carries to allow the Seawolves to dominate the game clock, 39:32 to 20:28.

Maysonet scored on two runs in the second quarter - from 1 and 14 yards out - to provide a 14-0 halftime lead. His first score capped a 21-play, 98-yard drive that started in the first quarter and lasted 12 minutes, 43 seconds.

Wesley Skiffington kicked 37- and 29-yard field goals in the second half and Stony Brook took a 20-3 lead.

Redshirt freshman quarterback John Robertson scored Villanova's only touchdown, a 21-yard run with 6:57 left. He finished with 85 yards on 15 carries, and was 15-of-31 for 135 yards and two interceptions.

The Wildcats, who earned the automatic playoff bid from CAA Football, saw their season end with an 8-4 record. They won six more games than a year ago, when they finished 2-9.

11/24 18:57:57 ET


Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 John Robertson Votes 2014 History
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 Past
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Kyle Emanuel Votes 2014 History
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 Past
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Sean McDonnell Votes 2014 History
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 Past
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Chase Edmonds Votes 2014 History
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 Past
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Winners
Mickey Charles Award
Year Winner Misc
2014 Zach Zenner History
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments | SportsNetworkdata.com