List of 2008 Candidates

#14 Armanti Edwards , QB

Appalachian State Mountaineers

SR 6-0 , 184

2008 Season Stats
Passing StatsRushing Stats
1at LSU311315510122301.9L 41-13
2vs. Jacksonville83451187719.6W 56-7
4at James Madison1911142112610904.2L 35-32
5vs. Presbyterian23122201083604.5W 48-14
6vs. Citadel181422540158025.3W 47-21
7at Samford292230730136314.8W 35-24
8at Ga Southern2212176203315734.8W 37-36
9vs. Furman241618620161611W 26-14
10vs. Wofford171936750147315.2W 70-24
11at Chattanooga179176209152016.9W 49-7
12vs. Elon1412147301210408.7W 24-16
13at Wstn CarolinaW 35-10
14vs. SC State412943342194812.5W 37-21
15vs. Richmond4126323158310.4L 33-13
QB Rating: 171.9632
Edwards came in as a true freshman to win the starting QB job at Appalachian State and helped the Mountaineers capture their second straight national title. The poised, unflappable performer became one of a handful of quarterbacks to run for 1,000 yards and pass for 2,000 in his freshman year, posting 1,153 yards rushing and 2,251 yards passing. He also was only the second freshman to take his team to a national title game, joining Chad Pennington of Marshall, and was the first to win it. Despite being sidelined for four whole games and half of another with a chipped bone in his shoulder, Edwards came back to drive ASU to another national title with 1,948 yards passing, 1,588 yards rushing. He was responsible for 38 TDs and set Southern Conference and ASU single-game rushing records with 313 yards rushing and four TDs in the semifinals against Richmond last year.


Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 John Robertson Votes 2014 History
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 Past
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Kyle Emanuel Votes 2014 History
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 Past
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Sean McDonnell Votes 2014 History
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 Past
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Chase Edmonds Votes 2014 History
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 Past
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Winners
Mickey Charles Award
Year Winner Misc
2014 Zach Zenner History
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments |