Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Drake leads All-PFL preseason team

St. Louis, MO (SportsNetwork.com) - Drake placed the most players on the Pioneer Football League preseason team with six on Wednesday.

Tight end Eric Saubert, linebacker John Hugunin and punter Cam Bohnert made the team after earning all-league first-team last December. Offensive lineman Troy Whitmer, defensive lineman Matt Acree and defensive back Brad Duwe also made the preseason squad following second-team honors on last year's postseason team.

San Diego, which was voted first in the 11-team's preseason poll on Tuesday, had four players on the preseason team.

2014 Preseason All-Pioneer Football League Team


WR - Reggie Bell, San Diego, Sr.

WR - Andrew Robustelli, Jacksonville, Sr.

WR - William Morris, Davidson, Jr.

TE - Eric Saubert, Drake, So.

QB - Will Bardo, Dayton, Sr.

RB - Connor Kacsor, Dayton, Sr.

RB - Atiq Lucas, Marist, Sr.

FB - Mike Yonker, Stetson, So.

OL - Pono Keni, San Diego, Jr.

OL - Daniel Murray, San Diego, Jr.

OL - David Tiwari, Butler, So.

OL - Troy Whitmer, Drake, Sr.

OL - Mike Demos, Butler, So.


DL - Pat Dowd, Dayton, Sr.

DL - Matt Acree, Drake, Sr.

DL - Maroa White, Jacksonville, So.

DL - Ugonna Awuruonye, Campbell, So.

LB - John Hugunin, Drake, Jr.

LB - Paul Sakowski, Marist, Sr.

LB - Matt Casey, Davidson, Sr.

LB - Mike Klein, Jacksonville, Jr.

DB - Donald Payne, Stetson, So.

DB - Zach Adler, Marist, Sr.

DB - Chris Atkins, Stetson, So.

DB - Brad Duwe, Drake, Jr.

DB - Troy McClelland, San Diego, Sr.


PK - William Will, Dayton, So.

P - Cam Bohnert, Drake, So.

RS - Brandon Bornhauser, Morehead State, Sr.

07/30 14:50:49 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.