Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Offense tops defense in North Dakota State spring game

Fargo, ND (SportsNetwork.com) - Carson Wentz's 59-yard touchdown pass to tight end Jeff Illies on the game's final play lifted the North Dakota State offense to a 29-22 victory over the defense in the Green and Gold spring game Saturday before 4,542 at Gate City Bank Field at the Fargodome.

The touchdown occurred on 4th-and-2.

Wentz, who is expected to become the starting quarterback for the three-time reigning FCS champion Bison, completed 11-of-20 pass attempts for 165 yards. Darius Anderson rushed for 89 yards on 14 carries.

The NDSU defense earned three points for Chris Board's 24-yard interception return on a deflected Wentz pass, four points on plays for lost yardage and six points for three sacks. The green team also scored two points for a three- and-out on the game's opening drive, and one point for each of seven other drives ended.

Linebackers Pierre Gee-Tucker and Kurt Mattox led all tacklers with six stops apiece.

Before the game, members of last year's 15-0 team received their NCAA championship rings.

04/26 22:15:51 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.