Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Sacramento State: Sperbeck out, Sears in as coach

Sacramento, CA (SportsNetwork.com) - Marshall Sperbeck abruptly resigned as Sacramento State's head football coach on Friday after seven seasons.

Jody Sears, who joined Sacramento State's program this spring as defensive coordinator, was named interim head coach for the 2014 season. He served as Weber State's head coach the last two seasons, going 4-19 before he was fired last November.

Sacramento Bee reporter Joe Davidson tweeted after the school's announcement that Sperbeck had expressed excitement for the 2014 season with him just days ago.

Sperbeck, 53, posted a 35-44 record at Sacramento State, including 5-7 last season when the Hornets also finished 4-4 in Big Sky Conference games.

He led two winning seasons - 6-5 in both 2010 and 2012 - and his Hornets gained national attention with victories at Oregon State and Colorado.

"The Hornet football program made definite strides during Coach Sperbeck's seven years at Sacramento State," Dr. Terry Wanless, Sacramento State's director of athletics, said. "We are in a better place, with players performing at a higher level. I thank him for his commitment to our program, and I am excited about the Hornet team that will take the field in 2014."

In addition to Weber State, the 46-year-old Sears also coached in the Big Sky at Eastern Washington from 2000-07, including the 2003-07 seasons as defensive coordinator. He went on to coach for four seasons at Washington State, his alma mater, including three as co-defensive coordinator.

04/25 13:00:23 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.