Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Penn's Bagnoli to retire after 2014 season

Philadelphia, PA (SportsNetwork.com) - Penn football coach Al Bagnoli said Wednesday he will retire after the 2014 season - his 23rd with the Quakers.

Longtime defensive coordinator Ray Priore will take over as the team's head coach on Dec. 1.

"It is with mixed emotion that I announce my resignation as head football coach, effective at the conclusion of the 2014 season," Bagnoli, 61, said in a statement. "It has been an honor and privilege to be part of the tremendous tradition and success Penn has enjoyed throughout its long, storied history.

"I remain appreciative of having the opportunity to work with an exceptional group of student-athletes; a tremendous coaching staff; an active, caring and generous alumni group; and a supportive athletic administration. I want to offer my sincere appreciation to all for making my job so enjoyable during the past 23 seasons."

Bagnoli has guided Penn to nine outright Ivy League titles, most recently in 2012, and is the all-time winningest coach in the Quakers' 137-year football history with a 146-72 record (.670). His 110 wins and .714 winning percentage in Ivy games both rank second in league history.

Bagnoli has a 232-91 overall record, having gone 86-19 in 10 seasons at Union from 1982-91.

Priore has coached at Penn longer than Bagnoli. He started as the assistant linebackers coach in 1987 and was kept on staff when Bagnoli took over in 1992.

"I am eagerly looking forward to this upcoming season and feel we have the potential to be an excellent football team," Bagnoli said. "I also remain optimistic about the long-term health of the program. I am confident Ray and his staff will work exceptionally hard and build upon the past success we have enjoyed."

Penn, which finished 4-6 last year, will open Bagnoli's final season at Jacksonville on Sept. 20. The Quakers' final home game is Nov. 15 against Harvard and their season finale will be played Nov. 22 at Cornell.

04/23 11:36:29 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.