Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

South Dakota to open 2014 schedule at Oregon

Vermillion, SD (SportsNetwork.com) - The University of South Dakota football team will kick off its 2014 season at Oregon and play six times at home as part of its 12-game schedule.

The Coyotes' Aug. 30 visit to Eugene, Ore., to take on the national power Ducks is a first-ever meeting between the two programs.

USD hopes to extend a 12-game winning streak in home openers on Sept. 6 against NAIA member William Penn.

The Coyotes will host Northern Arizona on Sept. 20 as well as four Missouri Valley Football Conference teams, Northern Iowa (Oct. 11), three-time defending FCS national champion North Dakota State (Oct. 25), Western Illinois (Nov. 8) and Illinois State (Nov. 15).

Coach Joe Glenn's squad also will visit Montana (Sept. 13) as well as conference foes Southern Illinois (Oct. 4), Missouri State (Oct. 18), Youngstown State (Nov. 1) and South Dakota State (Nov. 22). The regular-season finale in Brookings is USD's 108th meeting with South Dakota State.

The Coyotes finished with a 4-8 overall record and 3-5 conference mark in their second season in the MVFC last year.

They will not play Indiana State in the 10-team MVFC's unbalanced scheduling this season.

2014 South Dakota Football Schedule

Aug. 30 - at Oregon

Sept. 6 - William Penn

Sept. 13 - at Montana

Sept. 20 - Northern Arizona

Oct. 4 - at Southern Illinois*

Oct. 11 - Northern Iowa*

Oct. 18 - at Missouri State*

Oct. 25 - North Dakota State*

Nov. 1 - at Youngstown State*

Nov. 8 - Western Illinois*

Nov. 15 - Illinois State*

Nov. 22 - at South Dakota State*

* - Missouri Valley Football Conference game

03/26 10:32:37 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.