Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

McNeese State to open 2014 schedule at Nebraska

Lake Charles, LA (SportsNetwork.com) - McNeese State football will compete for a 10th straight winning season and the Southland Conference title during an 11- game 2014 schedule announced Thursday.

A year ago, the Cowboys reached the FCS playoffs and finished 10-3 under coach Matt Viator.

McNeese State will open its season at Nebraska on Sept. 6 - it second visit to Lincoln to face the Cornhuskers. In 2002, the Huskers defeated the Cowboys, 38-14, and after the game McNeese players received a standing ovation as they were running off the field by the Nebraska faithful.

The Cowboys will play six home games, including non-conference matchups against Prairie View A&M (Sept. 13) and Division II Arkansas Tech (Sept. 27).

Within Southland play, the Cowboys will host Nicholls (Oct. 4), Abilene Christian (Oct. 18, Homecoming), Stephen F. Austin (Nov. 8) and Lamar (Nov. 22).

The Cowboys also will play road games against Southland opponents Sam Houston State (Oct. 11), Incarnate Word (Oct. 25), Northwestern State (Nov. 1) and Southeastern Louisiana (Nov. 15), the defending conference champion.

"I like our schedule," said Viator, who will be entering his ninth season. "It's a competitive schedule. Anytime we can play more games at home than on the road and in front of our great fans, that's always a plus."

McNeese State said it will consider adding a 12th game if the right opportunity presents itself.

2014 McNeese State Football Schedule

Sept. 6, at Nebraska

Sept. 13, Prairie View A&M

Sept. 27, Arkansas Tech

Oct. 4, Nicholls*

Oct. 11, at Sam Houston State*

Oct. 18, Abilene Christian* (Homecoming)

Oct. 25, at Incarnate Word*

Nov. 1, at Northwestern State*

Nov. 8, Stephen F. Austin*

Nov. 15, at Southeastern Louisiana*

Nov. 22, Lamar*

* - Southland Conference game

03/20 11:21:26 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners