Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Duquesne to visit first FBS opponent

Pittsburgh, PA (SportsNetwork.com) - Duquesne football will play an FBS opponent for the first time and seven home games as part of a 12-game 2014 schedule announced on Tuesday.

The Dukes, who tied for the Northeast Conference title for the second time in the past three seasons last year, will open the season on Aug. 30 at Buffalo from the Mid-American Conference. Buffalo finished 8-5 and made an appearance in the Famous Idaho Potato Bowl last season.

Coach Jerry Schmidt's squad will host Dayton (Sept. 13), Monmouth (Sept. 20), West Liberty (Oct. 4, Homecoming) and Alderson Broaddus (Oct. 25) in non- conference games. Within the Northeast Conference, the Dukes will host Sacred Heart (Oct. 18), which shared the 2013 conference title and qualified for the FCS playoffs, Bryant (Nov. 8) and Robert Morris (Nov. 22).

The Dukes, who return 17 starters, also will play road games against Youngstown State (Sept. 6) and NEC opponents Central Connecticut State (Oct. 11), Saint Francis (Nov. 1) and Wagner (Nov. 15).

2014 Duquesne Football Schedule

Aug. 30, at Buffalo

Sept. 6, at Youngstown State

Sept. 13, Dayton

Sept. 20, Monmouth

Oct. 4, West Liberty (Homecoming)

Oct. 11, at Central Connecticut State*

Oct. 18. Sacred Heart*

Oct. 25, Alderson Broaddus

Nov. 1, at Saint Francis (Pa.)*

Nov. 8, Bryant*

Nov. 15, at Wagner*

Nov. 22, Robert Morris*

* - Northeast Conference game

03/18 16:10:12 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners