Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football
FCS Football News

Samford to face TCU, Auburn in 2014

Birmingham, AL (SportsNetwork.com) - Samford football coach Pat Sullivan will face familiar opponents when his Bulldogs play a pair of FBS opponents this year.

Samford will open the regular season by visiting TCU on Aug. 30. The Bulldogs will wrap up the campaign with a Nov. 22 trip to Auburn.

Sullivan was the starting quarterback at Auburn from 1969-71, and won the 1971 Heisman Trophy. He was TCU's head coach from 1992-97, leading the program to a Southwest Conference title in 1994.

"This will be great exposure for our kids and our program," Sullivan said. "It just worked out where we were able to play both of them this year. I know our players are looking forward to it."

Samford, which earned a share of the Southern Conference title last season and reached the FCS playoffs, finishing 8-5, will play six of its 11 games at home. The Bulldogs will host Stillman (Sept. 11) and Concordia (Nov. 1, Homecoming) in non-conference action, and VMI (Sept. 20), Mercer (Oct. 4), Wofford (Oct. 18) and Western Carolina (Nov. 8) in SoCon games.

2014 Samford Football Schedule

Aug. 30, at TCU

Sept. 11, Stillman

Sept. 20, VMI*

Sept. 27, at UT-Chattanooga*

Oct. 4, Mercer*

Oct. 18, Wofford*

Oct. 25, at Furman*

Nov. 1, Concordia (Homecoming)

Nov. 8, Western Carolina*

Nov. 15, at The Citadel*

Nov. 22, at Auburn

* - Southern Conference game

03/14 13:58:58 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.