Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

South Carolina State to face intrastate mix again

Orangeburg, SC (SportsNetwork.com) - South Carolina State football will open its 2014 season against four intrastate opponents and play at home five times as part of a 12-game schedule announced on Tuesday.

The Bulldogs are coming off a co-championship in the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference, a 9-4 record and a No. 25 finish in The Sports Network FCS Top 25.

South Carolina State will begin the season with three straight road games against Benedict (Aug. 30), Clemson (Sept. 6) and Coastal Carolina (Sept. 13) before hosting Furman (Sept. 20) in its home opener. The Bulldogs played all four South Carolina teams last season, defeating only Benedict and losing to Furman in the FCS playoffs.

The Bulldogs' other home games are within the MEAC against North Carolina Central (Oct. 11), Bethune-Cookman (Oct. 25), Savannah State (Nov. 1, Homecoming) and Norfolk State (Nov. 22). Bethune-Cookman shared the conference title with the Bulldogs last season.

Coach Buddy Pough's squad also will take to the road to face MEAC opponents Hampton (Sept. 27) North Carolina A&T (Oct. 4 in Atlanta), Florida A&M (Nov. 8) and Morgan State (Nov. 15).

2014 South Carolina State Football Schedule

Aug. 30, at Benedict (at Columbia, S.C.)

Sept. 6, at Clemson

Sept. 13, at Coastal Carolina

Sept. 20, Furman

Sept. 27, at Hampton*

Oct. 4, North Carolina A&T* (at Atlanta)

Oct. 11, North Carolina Central*

Oct. 25, Bethune-Cookman*

Nov. 1, Savannah State* (Homecoming)

Nov. 8, at Florida A&M*

Nov. 15, at Morgan State*

Nov. 22, Norfolk State*

* - MEAC game

03/11 10:56:05 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.