Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Cal Poly to host five in 12-game schedule

San Luis Obispo, CA (SportsNetwork.com) - Cal Poly football will kick off the 2014 season at New Mexico State and have five home matchups as part of a 12- game schedule announced Wednesday.

The Mustangs, who finished 6-6 last year, will open the season on a Thursday night for the first time since 2002, visiting New Mexico State on Aug. 28 in Las Cruces. The FBS opponent from the Sun Belt Conference was 2-10 last year.

Cal Poly's five home games are against Big Sky Conference schools, although its home opener against Portland State on Sept. 20 does not count toward the conference standings.

The Mustangs will host Southern Utah (Oct. 4), Montana (Oct. 25), Montana State (Nov. 1, Homecoming) and UC Davis (Nov. 15) in Big Sky games.

Coach Tim Walsh's squad also will play non-conference road games at South Dakota State (Sept. 6) and San Diego (Nov. 22), and Big Sky road games at Northern Arizona (Sept. 27), Weber State (Oct. 11), Sacramento State (Oct. 18) and Idaho State (Nov. 8).

Cal Poly also announced it has scheduled two future games against FBS schools, Arizona State at Sun Devil Stadium in Tempe on Sept. 19, 2015, and Nevada at Mackay Stadium in Reno on Sept. 10, 2016.

2014 Cal Poly Football Schedule

Aug. 28, at New Mexico State

Sept. 6, at South Dakota State

Sept. 20, Portland State

Sept. 27, at Northern Arizona*

Oct. 4, Southern Utah*

Oct. 11, at Weber State*

Oct. 18, at Sacramento State*

Oct. 25, Montana*

Nov. 1, Montana State* (Homecoming)

Nov. 8, at Idaho State*

Nov. 15, UC Davis*

Nov. 22, at San Diego

* - Big Sky Conference game

02/26 14:23:17 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners