Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Sgarlata named Georgetown head football coach

Washington, DC (SportsNetwork.com) - After conducting a national search for a new head football coach, Georgetown University promoted interim coach Rob Sgarlata to the permanent position on Tuesday.

Sgarlata, a 1994 Georgetown graduate, had been a Hoyas assistant coach the last 18 seasons. He was their assistant head coach and defensive coordinator the past eight seasons under head coach Kevin Kelly, who resigned on Jan. 30 to become the defensive coordinator at Ball State.

One of his alma mater's all-time rushing leaders, Sgarlata becomes just the fourth person to have played football and graduated from Georgetown before earning the head coach's title, joining Joe Reilly, Jack Hagerty and Maurice Dubofsky.

During Sgarlata's tenure as defensive coordinator, the Hoyas have had 20 selections to the All-Patriot League defense.

"When I was a student-athlete at Georgetown, our athletic director, Frank Rienzo, used to say that we stand on the shoulders of those who came before us," Sgarlata said. "During my time on the Hilltop, I have witnessed this sentiment first-hand. I have been fortunate to play for Scotty Glacken and work under excellent former head coaches Bob Benson and Kevin Kelly. I look forward to the challenge of guiding this program forward. I am extremely excited to work with the group of football players we currently have on the Hilltop."

Georgetown was 2-9 overall and 1-4 in league games last season. It is the only Patriot League program that does not award football scholarships.

Georgetown is the 27th FCS program with a head coaching change since just before the 2013 season.

02/18 11:00:15 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.