Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Delaware State to host Towson, visit Temple

Middletown, DE (SportsNetwork.com) - Delaware State's football program hopes a difficult non-conference schedule will set itself up well during the Mid- Eastern Athletic Conference season.

Delaware State announced a 12-game schedule on Wednesday, including a visit by 2013 national FCS runner-up Towson on Sept. 13 for the Hornets' home opener.

The Hornets also will go to Monmouth (Aug. 30), Delaware (Sept. 6) and Temple (Sept. 20) for non-conference games. The FBS matchup against Temple is a first- ever meeting between the two programs.

Within MEAC play, Delaware State will host Savannah State (Sept. 27), North Carolina A&T (Oct. 18, Homecoming), Hampton (Oct. 25) and Florida A&M (Nov. 15).

The Hornets will have road conference matchups against Bethune-Cookman (Oct. 4), Norfolk State (Oct. 11), Howard (Nov. 1) and Morgan State (Nov. 22)

Last year, Delaware State had a 5-6 record, including 5-3 in the MEAC, in Kermit Blount's third season as head coach.

2014 Delaware State Football Schedule

All Times ET

Aug. 30, at Monmouth, TBA

Sept. 6, at Delaware, 6 p.m.

Sept. 13, Towson, 2 p.m.

Sept. 20, at Temple (Lincoln Financial Field), TBA

Sept. 27, Savannah State*, 6 p.m.

Oct. 4, at Bethune-Cookman*, TBA

Oct. 11, at Norfolk State*, 2 p.m.

Oct. 18, North Carolina A&T* (Homecoming), 2 p.m.

Oct. 25, Hampton*, 2 p.m.

Nov. 1, at Howard*, TBA

Nov. 15, Florida A&M*, 2 p.m.

Nov. 22, at Morgan State*, TBA

* - MEAC game

02/12 17:26:04 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.