Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

CCSU to play six at home in Rossomando debut

New Britain, CT (SportsNetwork.com) - Central Connecticut State announced a 12- game schedule for head coach Pete Rossomando's first season with the Blue Devils on Wednesday.

The Blue Devils, coming off a 4-8 season, will play six home games at Arute Field.

After opening the season at 2013 FCS national runner-up Towson on Aug. 30, Central Connecticut State will play another CAA Football squad, Albany, in its home opener Sept. 6.

The Blue Devils will then travel to Holy Cross (Sept. 13) and Dartmouth (Sept. 20) before returning home to face Rhode Island (Sept. 27).

CCSU's first Northeast Conference game against Duquesne on Oct. 11 will serve as Homecoming. It's the start of flip-flopping home-and-away games in conference play

The Blue Devils will continue their NEC schedule at Robert Morris (Oct. 18), against Wagner (Oct. 25), at Bryant (Nov. 1), against Sacred Heart (Nov. 8) and at Saint Francis (Nov. 22). They also will step out of conference one final time by hosting Howard on Nov. 15.

"Our schedule is going to challenge us. We are going to test ourselves against teams from some of the best conferences in the nation over the first five weeks of the season," Rossomando said. "Those games will prepare us for the NEC games in the second half of the season."

2014 Central Connecticut State Football Schedule

Aug. 30, at Towson

Sept. 6, Albany

Sept. 13, at Holy Cross

Sept. 20, at Dartmouth

Sept. 27, Rhode Island

Oct. 11, Duquesne* (Homecoming)

Oct. 18, at Robert Morris*

Oct. 25, Wagner*

Nov. 1, at Bryant*

Nov. 8, Sacred Heart*

Nov. 15, Howard

Nov. 22, at Saint Francis (Pa.)*

* - Northeast Conference game

02/12 14:27:51 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners