Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Central Arkansas to open Campbell era with tough schedule

Conway, AR (SportsNetwork.com) - Central Arkanas football will kick off the 2014 season at Texas Tech and play 12 regular-season games under new head coach Steve Campbell.

The Bears will head to Lubbock on Aug. 30 to take on a Big 12 team coming off a win in the Holiday Bowl.

UCA will play six home games on its gray-and-purple-striped turf, including non-conference matchups with UT Martin (Sept. 6) and Missouri State (Sept. 20).

Within the Southland Conference, UCA will host Nicholls (Sept. 27), Houston Baptist (Oct. 11), Northwestern State (Oct. 25) and Lamar (Nov. 8).

The road portion of the schedule is particularly tough, including a visit to Big Sky power Montana State on Sept. 13. The Bears also will go to Southland foe Stephen F. Austin (Oct. 4) and face Clint Conque, their former head coach for the past 14 seasons.

UCA also has road matchups with defending Southland champion Southeastern Louisiana (Oct. 18), Abilene Christian (Nov. 1) and Sam Houston State (Nov. 22).

"We definitely have a challenging schedule," said Campbell, who took over the UCA program on Dec. 20. "We know we are going to be challenged in the non- conference season. But we also look at it as a great opportunity to see where we are and see where we need to improve."

UCA finished 7-5 last season, including 4-3 in the Southland Conference.

2014 Central Arkansas Football Schedule

Aug. 30, at Texas Tech

Sept. 6, UT Martin

Sept. 13, at Montana State

Sept. 20, Missouri State

Sept. 27, Nicholls*

Oct. 4, at Stephen F. Austin*

Oct. 11, Houston Baptist*

Oct. 18, at Southeastern Louisiana*

Oct. 25, Northwestern State*

Nov. 1, at Abilene Christian*

Nov. 8, Lamar*

Nov. 22, at Sam Houston State*

* - Southland Conference game

02/06 13:26:11 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners