Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Florida A&M seeks turnaround in 2014

Tallahassee, FL (SportsNetwork.com) - Coming off back-to-back losing seasons, Florida A&M's football program has established the mantra "Set the Record Straight" for its 2014 season.

The Rattlers hope to do just that during their 12-game schedule announced on Friday.

"We took our lumps and growing pains last year," said second-year coach Earl Holmes, whose team was 3-9 this past season. The Rattlers finished 4-7 in 2012. "That has fueled us in preparing to embark on the journey we set out to accomplish, which is to restore FAMU football to its rightful place, atop the MEAC."

Florida A&M will play five home games at Bragg Stadium. The Rattlers will welcome in Big South Conference power Coastal Carolina on Sept. 20 for a first- ever meeting between the two programs. In addition, the Rattlers will host Morgan State (Oct. 4), Savannah State (Oct. 11), Norfolk State (Nov. 1, Homecoming) and South Carolina State (Nov. 8) within the Mid-Eastern Atlantic Conference.

FAMU will open the season at Southwestern Athletic Conference power Jackson State (Aug. 30) and then visit the Miami Hurricanes (Sept. 6) from the Atlantic Coast Conference. The Rattlers also will visit rival Tennessee State (Sept. 27) from the Ohio Valley Conference.

Their conference road games are against Howard (Oct. 18), North Carolina A&T (Oct. 25) and Delaware State (Nov. 15), while the annual rivalry game with Bethune-Cookman will occur on Nov. 22 at the Florida Citrus Bowl in Orlando.

2014 Florida A&M Football Schedule

Aug. 30, at Jackson State

Sept. 6, at Miami (Fla.)

Sept. 20, Coastal Carolina

Sept. 27, at Tennessee State

Oct. 4, Morgan State*

Oct. 11, Savannah State*

Oct. 18, at Howard*

Oct. 25, at North Carolina A&T*

Nov. 1, Norfolk State* (Homecoming)

Nov. 8, South Carolina State*

Nov. 15, at Delaware State

Nov. 22, Bethune-Cookman* at (Orlando, Fla.)

* - MEAC game

01/24 13:33:57 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.