Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Western Illinois to host six, visit Big Ten pair

Macomb, IL (SportsNetwork.com) - Western Illinois football will play two FBS opponents and six home games as part of its second straight 12-game schedule this year.

The Fighting Leathernecks, coming off a 4-8 record in coach Bob Nielson's first season, will host Macomb (Aug. 28) and Drake (Sept. 13) in non-conference games, and three-time reigning FCS national champion North Dakota State (Oct. 4, Homecoming), Illinois State (Oct. 18), Northern Iowa (Oct. 25) and Indiana State (Nov. 22) within the Missouri Valley Football Conference.

Their first road games are at Big Ten members Wisconsin (Sept. 6) and Northwestern (Sept. 20).

With conference play, Western Illinois will visit Southern Illinois (Sept. 27), Youngstown State (Oct. 11), South Dakota (Nov. 8) and South Dakota State (Nov. 15).

2014 Western Illinois Football Schedule

All Times ET

Aug. 28, Macomb, 7 p.m.

Sept. 6, at Wisconsin, TBA

Sept. 13, Drake, 4 p.m.

Sept. 20, at Northwestern, TBA

Sept. 27, at Southern Illinois*, TBA

Oct. 4, North Dakota State* (Homecoming), 4 p.m.

Oct. 11, at Youngstown State*, TBA

Oct. 18 Illinois State*, 4 p.m.

Oct. 25 Northern Iowa*, 2 p.m.

Nov. 8, at South Dakota*, TBA

Nov. 15, at South Dakota State*, TBA

Nov. 22, Indiana State*, 2 p.m.

*-Missouri Valley Football Conference game

01/23 15:39:30 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.