Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Jackson State tabs alum Jackson as football coach

Jackson, MS (SportsNetwork.com) - It's been awhile, but Harold Jackson is glad to be home.

Jackson State named the 1968 graduate of the Southwestern Athletic Conference university as its new head football coach on Monday.

Jackson, a five-time All-Pro wide receiver and a 10-year NFL coaching veteran, replaces Rick Comegy, whose contract was not renewed last month. Comegy had a 55-35 record in eight seasons, including 8-4 this past season when Jackson State lost in the SWAC championship game for a second straight year.

"I'm going to put the excitement and product on the field," said Jackson, a native of Hattiesburg. "Our players will have discipline in the classroom and on the competition level. Our football players will be developed as good citizens."

Following his collegiate career at JSU, Jackson played 16 years in the NFL with the Los Angeles Rams (1968, 1973-77), Philadelphia Eagles (1969-72), New England Patriots (1978-81), Minnesota Vikings (1982) and Seattle Seahawks (1983).

He has coached in the NFL with New England (1985-89), Tampa Bay (1992-93) and New Orleans (1997-99). As a collegiate coach, he has been an assistant at North Carolina Central (1990), Virginia Union (1994), Benedict College (1995-96), Kentucky (2001-02) and Baylor (2003-06).

Most recently, he coached in the United Football League in 2011 and '12. He is a member of both the Mississippi and JSU Sports Hall of Fame.

01/13 14:42:25 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners