Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

James Madison names Withers new head coach

Harrisonburg, VA (SportsNetwork.com) - James Madison University has named Everett Withers its next head football coach.

Withers spent the last two seasons at Ohio State as an assistant coach and co- defensive coordinator.

The 26-year coaching veteran, was at North Carolina prior to Ohio State, where he was the defensive coordinator for three seasons and, in 2011, served as the interim coach for the Tar Heels after Butch Davis was let go.

"We are so thrilled to welcome Coach Withers and his family to James Madison," director of athletics Jeff Bourne said. "Everett is a proven winner and has shown his ability to lead, having spent time as a head coach. The entire committee was incredibly impressed when we met with him, and I have no doubt that he will be a great leader for our football program and mentor to our student-athletes for many years to come."

Withers replaced Mickey Matthews, a two-time winner of the Eddie Robinson Award, given annually to the FCS coach of the year, was fired after the 2013 season with one year remaining on his contract. His Dukes finished the season 6-6 overall with a 3-5 record in the Colonial Athletic Association.

Matthews was 109-71 in his 15 seasons at JMU, which included a national championship in 2004 and five total playoff appearances. The Dukes have been to the FCS postseason once in the last five seasons.

12/20 19:29:54 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners