Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Dissecting the New Hampshire playoff streak

Durham, NH (SportsNetwork.com) - The New Hampshire football squad travels to Maine on Saturday for one of the eight FCS second-round playoff matchups. By making it into the playoffs, the Wildcats have been to 10 consecutive postseasons, the nation's longest active streak.

It's New Hampshire's 12th overall playoff appearance in program history. The Wildcats have a 7-11 postseason record that includes a 5-8 mark on the road.

Until last weekend, when New Hampshire beat Lafayette at Cowell Stadium, the Wildcats had played 11 consecutive road playoff games.

During the 10-season playoff streak, the Wildcats have notched a 7-9 record, including 6-1 in first-round games and 1-2 in second-round games. All second- round games have been on the road.

The Wildcats have not won a quarterfinal game in program history.

Despite the continuous streak of postseason berths, this year's Wildcats team will be looking to do something no other New Hampshire squad has done in the past - win two playoff games in a single tournament.

Facing Maine doesn't increase the Wildcats' odds, either, despite the fact they beat the Black Bears two weeks ago, 24-3. Not if history indicates anything anyway.

New Hampshire is 0-3 all-time in the postseason when facing a league opponent (lost to Massachusetts in 2006, Villanova in 2009 and Delaware in 2010).

On Saturday, the Wildcats hope to be the team that bucks the program's playoff trend.

12/06 06:06:06 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners