Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Ga. Southern's McKinnon, Westbrooks invited to Senior Bowl

Statesboro, GA (SportsNetwork.com) - Georgia Southern running back Jerick McKinnon and cornerback Lavelle Westbrooks have been invited to participate in the 2014 Reese's Senior Bowl, the university announced Thursday.

McKinnon, who began the year as a quarterback for the Eagles, finished his collegiate career with 3,899 rushing yards and 42 rushing touchdowns. He recorded six games of 100 or more rushing yards in 2013 for the 7-4 Eagles, who are transitioning to the FBS level. He is third all-time in Georgia Southern history in rushing yards.

McKinnon completed 8-of-17 pass attempts with 171 yards, four touchdowns and an interception. He is considered a running back for the professional level.

Westbrooks, a four-year defensive starter for the Eagles, finished his career with seven interceptions, 20 pass breakups and 147 total tackles.

The 6-foot, 192-pound cornerback ranks sixth in program history in pass breakups, and is among the top Eagles players all-time in career interceptions.

"The Senior Bowl is a wonderful opportunity for Jerick and Lavelle to represent our program and Georgia Southern University and be coached by NFL staffs," Eagles coach Jeff Monken said. "We are obviously excited for them and wish them all the luck in the world as they embark on their professional careers."

The Senior Bowl will be held Jan. 25 at 4 p.m. ET at Ladd-Peebles Stadium in Mobile, Ala. Both McKinnon and Westbrooks will be playing on the South team roster.

12/05 15:30:30 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners