Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Sacred Heart dominates NEC football honors

Somerset, NJ (SportsNetwork.com) - Sacred Heart's football program won four of the five awards handed out by the Northeast Conference on Wednesday.

Junior running back Keshaudas Spence was named the offensive player of the year, junior defensive lineman Troy Moore earned defensive player of the year and redshirt freshman RJ Noel captured offensive rookie of the year. In addition, Mark Nofri was named the NEC coach of the year.

Eight Sacred Heart made the All-NEC first team. The Pioneers (10-2) have advanced to the FCS playoffs for the first time and will play at Fordham in the first round on Saturday.

Saint Francis defensive back Lorenzo Jerome was named the NEC defensive rookie of the year.



QB - RJ Noel, Sacred Heart, R-Fr.

RB - Kyle Harbridge, Saint Francis, R-Sr.

RB - Keshaudas Spence, Sacred Heart, Jr.

WR - Tyler Dube, Sacred Heart, Jr.

WR - Jordan Harris, Bryant, Jr.

TE - Tyler Digby, Robert Morris, Sr.

OL - A.J. Dalton, Robert Morris, Sr.

OL - Paul Link, Sacred Heart, R-Sr.

OL - Thurston Kino, Saint Francis, Jr.

OL - Jamie Martinez, Sacred Heart, Sr.

OL - Taylor Fuller, Central Connecticut, Sr.


DL - Jeff Covitz, Bryant, Jr.

DL - A.J. Holderman, Robert Morris, Sr.

DL - Connor McNamara, Bryant, Sr.

DL - Troy Moore, Sacred Heart, Jr.

LB - Mike Cook, Robert Morris, Sr.

LB - Kellen Sperduto, Sacred Heart, So.

LB - Christian Kuntz, Duquesne, So.

DB - Jake DeMedal, Saint Francis, Sr.

DB - Gordon Hill, Sacred Heart, Jr.

DB - Lorenzo Jerome, Saint Francis, Fr.

DB - Antwione Reese, Central Connecticut, Sr.


PK - David Lopez, Wagner, R-Sr.

P - A.J. Firestone, Wagner, Jr.

RS - Antwan Eddie, Robert Morris, Jr.

11/27 14:33:04 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.