Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Jensen, Starr headline Missouri Valley awards

St. Louis, MO (SportsNetwork.com) - North Dakota State quarterback Brock Jensen and South Dakota linebacker Tyler Starr were named the Missouri Valley Football Conference's offensive and defensive player of the year, respectively, on Wednesday.

Jensen received 81 points in the voting by a panel consisting of Missouri Valley coaches, sports information directors and media.

South Dakota State running back Zach Zenner received 46 points followed by Youngstown State quarterback Kurt Hess with 11 and Northern Iowa running back David Johnson with 10.

The defensive voting was Starr with 50 points, North Dakota State linebacker Grant Olson with 34, Missouri State safety Caleb Schaffitzel with 31, South Dakota State linebacker R.C. Kilgore with 14 and Illinois State defensive end Colton Underwood with 12.

Youngstown State running back Martin Ruiz was the newcomer and freshman of the year, while North Dakota State's Craig Bohl was named the coach of the year.

11/27 10:31:25 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners