Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Jacksonville State signs three, loses LB Jackson

Jacksonville, AL (Sports Network) - Three mid-year transfers, including two from FBS schools, have joined the Jacksonville State football program, Gamecocks head football coach Jack Crowe announced.

Safety Desmond Brown transferred from Clemson and tight end Gavin Ellis from Troy, while linebacker/defensive lineman Ketrick Wolfe signed out of Pearl River Community College. Each player is enrolled in the spring semester and eligible immediately.

Crowe also announced linebacker Clarence Jackson has left the team for personal reasons and will not play during the 2012 season. The transfer from Ole Miss is expected to rejoin the team in the future.

Brown, from Centre, Ala., was rated as the No. 24 safety in the nation and the 12th best player in Alabama by Rivals.com out of Cherokee County High School as a senior in 2009.

He was dimissed from the Clemson program during his redshirt freshman season last fall for a violation of team rules. He has three seasons of eligibility remaining.

Ellis, 6-6, 265, was a first-team all-state selection from Cullman, Ala., as a senior in 2008. He saw action in all 12 games during the 2011 season for Troy and played in six games as a freshman, primarily working on the field goal and extra point units.

He has two seasons of eligibility remaining.

The 6-3, 230-pound Wolfe, from Sumrall, Miss., started all eight games last year and finished with 49 tackles with seven tackles for loss and two sacks.

He has two seasons of eligibility remaining.

Jacksonville State was 7-4 and earned a share of the Ohio Valley Conference title this past season.

01/22 07:18:38 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.