Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Southeast Missouri to face Purdue in 2011

Cape Girardeau, MO (Sports Network) - Defending Ohio Valley Conference champion Southeast Missouri State will play six home games and visit Purdue as part of an 11-game schedule this season.

The Redhawks will kick off their campaign at home against Southern Illinois on Sept. 3.

Following a bye, Southeast Missouri will then head to Big Ten Conference member Purdue for a Sept. 17 game. Purdue coach Danny Hope used to coach against the Redhawks in the OVC when he led Eastern Kentucky's program from 2003-07.

The Redhawks' other home games are against OVC members Eastern Illinois (Oct. 1), Austin Peay (Oct. 22) on Homecoming Day, Jacksonville State (Nov. 12) and Murray State (Nov. 19), and NAIA member Central Methodist (Nov. 5).

Southeast Missouri finished 9-3 overall and 7-1 in the OVC while earning its first NCAA playoff berth last season. Head coach Tony Samuel was the winner of the 2010 Eddie Robinson Award, which is given to the FCS coach of the year, presented by The Sports Network and sponsored by Fathead.com.

2011 Southeast Missouri State Football Schedule

All Times ET

Sept. 3, Southern Illinois, Cape Girardeau, Mo., 7 p.m.

Sept. 17, at Purdue, West Lafayette, Ind., TBA

Sept. 24, at Tennessee Tech*, Cookeville, Tenn., TBA

Oct. 1, Eastern Illinois*, Cape Girardeau, Mo., 7 p.m.

Oct. 8, at Tennessee State*, Nashville, Tenn., TBA

Oct. 15, at Eastern Kentucky*, Richmond, Ky., TBA

Oct. 22, Austin Peay* (Homecoming), Cape Girardeau, Mo., 2 p.m.

Oct. 29, at UT Martin*, Martin, Tenn., TBA

Nov. 5, Central Methodist, Cape Girardeau, Mo., 2 p.m.

Nov. 12, Jacksonville State*, Cape Girardeau, Mo., 2 p.m.

Nov. 19, Murray State*, Cape Girardeau, Mo., 2 p.m.

*-Ohio Valley Conference game

03/30 15:28:23 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.